rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















random...in chronological order
January 19th, 2011

More interested in trying to pull together a letter for Uncle than trying to pull together a post. Given the non-eventful blahness that is winter, both are difficult. But here goes:
Ordered my award--selected the Bulova Watch. It's a $110.00 watch, according to the Web, and I really like it.


Spouse and I joined Sam's Club on Friday. We took advantage of the no-upcharge free trial they were running, and decided it would be totally worth our while to join. The savings just on what we bought Friday more than covered the $40 fee. Hell, when you can get a 3.3 oz. bottle of L'Air Du Temps for $34.00, that item alone repays the membership. I'm thinking I'll probably go there for my new eyeglasses.
Went to Niece's choir meet on Saturday. She got critiqued on her solo, and the judge was trying really hard to give her good notes about her movement. Everyone in the family was mad at the judge, but having tried to give Niece notes on the same thing, I was secretly sympathizing with the poor woman.

Niece has a really shitty choir director, as far as I can see. She doesn't appear to teach singing, her general taste in music is execrable, she has no idea how to select songs for a swing choir, and she farms out the choreography to an assistant. Needless to say, they didn't do particularly well. But considering the guts it takes to do your first full solo at a competition meet like that, where you both perform AND get critiqued in front of your friends and family, I am hellaciously proud of my Babygirl.
Spouse and I made the America's Test Kitchen Chicken Pot Pie Crumble on Sunday. We tweaked it to leave out the mushrooms and parsley, but that didn't hurt it, as far as I could tell. It was fantastic.
Spouse started the new semester on Wednesday, and I, for one, could not be more grateful. The longer he's off, the more of a "helicopter" he is. As of Tuesday, I was barely able to scratch my ass without his interference. And the hovering was about to make me lose it.
I was really hoping it would be a winter where the snow came and went, instead of came and stuck around, and came again. But it is what it is. And what it is is a ginormous pain in the tuchas. And just for fun, we have the extra layer of awfulness that is added by a warm front bringing freezing rain, followed by a cold front that brings temps down to single digits.
As I mentioned, I'm working on an Uncle letter. It takes me about an hour to write one, but three days to pull it all together and get it ready to mail. There is a lot of twiddling to scan and import photos, get the font sized and the text positioned properly, and get it all printed 2-sided. Plus, I am including two variations of a recipe for Auntie in this one, which means I have to get it transcribed and printed as well. I am in the homestretch now, as I have it ready nearly ready for printing. Not mailing this one from the office, though. It seems like dropping it in our lobby letterbox will add two to three days to the mailing time, so I will have Spouse drop this one at the main post office on his way to school.

Reading: Hobby--"The White Linen Nurse" (1913), "The Indiscreet Letter" (1915) and "Peace on Earth, Goodwill to Dogs" (1920), all by Eleanor Hallowell Abbott.

General--I finished "Corduroy Mansions" (2010), by Alexander McCall Smith. Just as enjoyable as the 44 Scotland Street series. --I also finished "The Miracle at Speedy Motors", after I set it aside so I could concentrate on CM. It's only a 7-day download, and I wanted to finish it before it went phhht.

Surfing: If I Didn't Have a Sense of Humor.

Listening:"Julie Andrews - Little Bit of Broadway". I got myself this CD when I ordered Niece's books for her. An enchanting way to make the free shipping threshold.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com