rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















sweet
January 20th, 2011

Unexpectedly got the house to myself last night--Spouse had to go to a meeting at school, which necessitated him leaving before 4:30 and not getting home until about 8:30. I didn't want to squander the gift of time to myself, so I managed to finish printing my project, talk to my mom on the phone, download some books, and watch most of "Ellery Queen: Too Many Suspects" (the EQ pilot)from my Christmas set before he came home to dominate my time. While I was working on the computer, it occurred to me that things really flow smoothly when I have the luxury of concentrating--no chatter, no tv, no vacuum or dishwater running in the background. Even the dog pesters me less when it is just the two of us. It has been so long since I had a truly quiet evening! I really resented it when he came home; took me a minute to shake myself into amenable wife mode.

Damn, I'm glad he's back in school.





Reading:Hobby--Made a quick re-visit to the first Patty Fairfield book, and realized it really is my favorite, and also that the changes to Patty over subsequent books feel like a betrayal of this first novel. Especially her total abandonment of a sense of proportion! Haven't started anything new, though. I'm debating whether to start the Hildegarde books, or take a rest for a while from the girls' series.

General--"Wishin' and Hopin': A Christmas Story" (2009), by Wally Lamb. I wanted to read this at Christmas, but my turn in the library queue didn't come up till this week.
Also, an old mystery novel: "Murder at Bridge" (1931), by Anne Austin. Discovered this one through Melody at Redeeming Qualities.

Surfing: Getting a bit of background on Charlotte Brame; I am thinking of getting into her books, even though they are a bit earlier than I generally go for (1860s--1880s).

Listening:


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com