rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















(literally and figuratively) under the weather
January 13th, 2011

There was a perfect combination of illness, exhaustion, and horrible weather on Tuesday--so I called in sick, spent lots of time in the bathroom, took many naps with the electric blanket on high and the dog snugged in next to me, got some reading in, and (reluctantly ) helped Spouse move snow, so he could get his car off the street and into the driveway.

Then I paved the way for the coming forced profile change on FB by clearing all my personal data and photos off of my profile. (I don't think I'm social enough for social networking, really.)

Oh, and I made the rice for dinner and did the dishes after. That was my day.


As for yesterday, I would like to say I accomplished more than I did Tuesday, but I don't think so. Even if I did get up, shower, dress, put in a full day at the office, etc.
And today was weird. I got a certificate and a cake for my work anniversary (15 years, come Sunday), plus I get to order an award of my choice from a selection of about 53 different items. I have it narrowed down to a couple of watches, a wall clock, and a flatware set. Truly, I'm thinking I like the flatware best, but I want to check w/Spouse, since the knife handles are the weird kind. But it is a 45-piece set; 5-piece service for eight plus 5 hostess pieces. But the Bulova chiming wall clock is kind of awesome, too. MUCH nicer than my old, cheap "schoolhouse regulator" style we got at Wally's back in the mid-nineties. (This one is real wood, not contact paper over particle board!)

Reading: Hobby--"Ladies-In-Waiting" (1919) and "Polly Oliver's Problem" (1896), by Kate Douglas Smith Wiggin. Taking a break from the Polly Spencer series with a couple of Wiggins.

General--"The Miracle at Speedy Motors" (2008), by Alexander McCall Smith. Mma Ramotswe #9. Paper! I was able to get this on sale when I used Nephew's gift card--$2.99 for the hardcover. Then I ended up ordering the next two books as well, in order to get the free shipping. If I'm going to spend it anyway, I want something to show for it.
And another By McCall Smith; "Courduroy Mansions" (2010). Epub via library download. Haven't read enough to weigh in on this one yet.

Surfing: .

Listening:Bob Seger, Foo Fighters, Pretenders, Justin Townes Earle.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com