rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















crud.
January 03, 2011, 8:00 P.M.

Things currently annoying the hell out of me:
Woke up with a nasty boil on my inner thigh (staph infection).
Also, woke with a hasty headache, and a stiff neck.
Also, woke in the middle of a dream where I couldn't get where I was going because some old Hollywood zombie golf tournament (either Sinatra or Bob Hope) was tying up air travel. WTF?
Found out I have to convert to the latest Office suite at work--and I FREAKIN' HATE 2010.
With everyone back from their holiday vacations, the entire staff felt it was necessary to surround my desk and converse with each other at top volume.
Every E-book my local library offers is currently checked out, because everyone in the county apparently got a reader for Christmas.
I'm at the end of my rope now, but he doesn't go back to school for two whole weeks. Someone may die.


My current foul state of mind belies the fact that it was a very quiet weekend. Very warm and wet on Friday; we lost every bit of the snow that slammed us on Christmas. Spouse and I ran errands, grocery shopped, and then came home to relax and cook a lovely steak dinner--he handled the charcoal and meat, I baked potatoes, tossed a salad, and made garlic toast. I even made him Jell-O for dessert. And...we were asleep by ten.

And I didn't get up till nearly eight on Saturday! I was a real ball of fire when I did get up, though. I started by grinding coffee, squeezing oranges, cooking hash browns, scrambling eggs, and toasting bread for a New Year's Breakfast (I lad a lovely puffy omelet with ham and a bit of cheddar, and Spouse just had plain scrambled eggs ).

After I did the dishes from breakfast, I moved on to laundry, including the throw rugs, the dog's blankie, and whatever else I could get my hands on. While the laundry was going, I forced Spouse to help me go through and clean out every drawer in his dresser, doing the keep-toss-give away thing. I also cleaned about two months of accumulated clutter off the dining room table, and cleaned out the storage cupboard over the oven, chucking old junk (remember the Snackster? The Presto Burger Maker?), scrubbing, and reassembling everything neatly. I had a wonderful New Year's Day. It was very productive, and I never made it out of my jammies. I ADORE that kind of a day.

We had planned on cooking out again (burgers), but the weather had changed over to cold and very windy. Plus, we had odds and ends of leftovers to finish, so we just grazed for dinner.

Yesterday was another late rising, and I have to confess that I was a bit more laid back this time around. But I did more laundry, and wandered into the shower around 10. He followed about 10:30.

Once we had finally pulled ourselves together, we headed up to Milwaukee. Spouse needs new shoes, and a 13-EEEE (yes, that is four E's!) has a rough time in that department. But he'd done some research, and thought that the New Balance store would be a good place to look.

Bitter disappointment. You would think that a store specializing in one brand of shoe and advertising their huge size range, would have a big old selection. Or be able to order what you need.

Nope. There are more pairs of NBs in one small section of my local Rogan's shoe store than in their entire shop. Seems they only carry running shoe models. And they can't order anything they don't normally stock.

Hmmph.

So the drive wouldn't be a total loss, we had lunch at Paul's Omega. It being Sunday, they had their amazing, ambrosial cream of chicken soup, so we both had that, and a sandwich to go with. Yummm.

And after lunch, we drove all the way back down to K-Town, and went to Rogan's. Where they cheerfully ordered the exact size and model Spouse wants. And where I found two new pairs of shoes for work in about five minutes. My favorite brand & style, my exact size, in black and in brown. And on sale for 25% off!

And when we got home, I celebrated by playing on the internet, followed by a two-hour nap, followed by more playing on the internet, and more grazing for dinner. Then the evening "work-prep" chores, book, and bed.

Where the heck did those three days go?

Reading: Hobby--still going in and out of "People Like That" (1916), by Kate Langley Bosher. It's a little hard to follow, and tends to go into the same one-note sermon every few pages. Other than that, I kind of like it.
"Ghost Beyond the Gate" (1943), by Mildred Wirt Benson. Another Penny Parker. It's well into WWII by '43, and the author isn't ignoring it--the book begins with a tire-and-gas thief and one of the characters is plane-spotting.

General--"Homer and Langley" (2009), by E.L. Doctorow. A highly fictionalized account of notorious hoarders the Collyer brothers. Also, "The Secret Adversary" (1922), by Agatha Christie. The first Tommy and Tuppence.

Surfing: Voyages of the Susabella, a vintage books blog.

Listening: NPR

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com