rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















pooped
January 04, 2011

If the kind of sleep where you dream is so good for you, why does a night filled with dreams make me wake up feeling like I've been beaten with a sack of doorknobs? I have been dreaming so heavily lately that I actually had to lie down & have a nap when I got home from work yesterday. Spouse had dinner well in hand, so I changed into my PJs and climbed into bed for about an hour. Felt much better when I got up at six and ate dinner, but I awoke this morning just as worn out as I did yesterday.


Minor Rant:
If you chew gum on the phone, you are chewing it DIRECTLY INTO THE EAR OF THE OTHER PERSON ON THE LINE. If it is a CONFERENCE CALL, you are chewing it DIRECTLY INTO THE EAR OF THE EVERYONE ON THE LINE. (Also--if you are doing this, and you are the LEADER of the conference call? You are a rude and thoughtless asshole and should be smacked.)

Major Rant:
Just read at CNN.com that an expurgated version of Huckleberry Finn is coming out. "Nigger Jim" will be "Slave Jim". Any other uses of the word will also be censored and converted to the word slave. They are also removing all instances of the word "injun".

I have censorship issues in general, and when it comes to this, they really rear up. Because the editors are not only with tinkering with the author's original intent, but in this case, with a strength the book has gained over time--I think that the fact that those words now have the power to shock and dismay us is all the more reason to leave the book as written. Watering them down is only taking away from the powerful statement the book continues to make.

Reading: Hobby--"People Like That" (1916), by Kate Langley Bosher.
"Ghost Beyond the Gate" (1943), by Mildred Wirt Benson.

General--"Homer and Langley" (2009), by E.L. Doctorow.

Surfing: .

Listening: Kings of Leon, Neil Young, New Order, Counting Crows, Fleetwood Mac

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com