rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















so much
November 12, 2010

The Haircut and Uncle Letter are done, but I still need to get my oil changed, a bunch of my meds refilled, my shopping done, the Shalom Center Thanksgiving shopping done, all the laundry done, the packing done, and probably a bunch of other stuff I'm too tired and fuzzy to recall done.

Oh, and I'm supposed to go to a party tonight.

OMFG, I desperately need a nap.


I apparently slept like shit last night, since I woke up feeling hideous. And I seem to recall a series of restless dreams, although the only one I have a clear idea of on waking is this: I found that the fate of civilization was literally in my hands. If I destroyed/disarmed/whatever a certain device that I had found and was actually holding in my hands, then mankind would survive.

What does this say about my psyche? In my dream, I put the device back where I found it, and did nothing. (I woke up after that, so I can only assume that we all perished. Oh, well.)

Reading: Hobby--A couple by by Eleanor H. Porter, author or "Pollyanna". Just finished "Dawn" (1919), a melodramatic and slightly depressing piece that managed to bring in bad parenting, blindness, the horrors of WWI, and a lot of Pride and Prejudice-style romantic misunderstanding. But it's a Porter, so it ends on an up note. Also,just starting "Mary Marie" (1920). This one is appears to be about a 13-year-old child of divorce. I just hope she didn't have the parents to reconcile in a sappy way--I hate that.


General�"In the Company of Others" (2010), by Jan Karon. Still pecking away at this one; There are dark undercurrents in many of the Mitford/Father Tim stories, but this one seems to be mostly dark undercurrents. A little harder to lose oneself to the story. Maybe it's the fact that it is set in Ireland, and not in the cozy town of Mitford, where Tim and Cynthia have a more-or-less equal balance between those who provide emotional support and those who require it. In this one, the balance has tipped on the needy side.

Surfing: .

Listening: Led Zeppelin, Neil Young.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com