rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















rough week
November 10, 2010

I'm knackered. This is turning out to be one of those weeks with no veg-time. Every evening seems to bring somewhere I have to be or something I have to do. Monday was the radio station, and Tuesday, I got roped into making homemade meatballs for Wednesday, because Niece is coming to dinner (and what Niece asks for, Niece gets)with her boyfriend. This is momentous, because she's never let us meet him before. She says it's because she's nervous about what her uncle might pull. He's both very protective, and very into embarassing her, so I kind of see her point.

Anyway, since she has to drop off the cheesecake Spouse ordered for a fundraiser, she parlayed it into dinner. Spouse is making a scratch spaghetti sauce, and she specifically requested meatballs. And since I will NOT buy ready-made meatballs (universally yucky, to my mind and palate), I spent the evening whipping up a batch of my own recipe so that all Spouse has to do is pop them into the sauce & warm them through. So it's meatballs in marinara over angel-hair pasta, with tossed salad & garlic bread. Should be a good feed.


I'm desperately hoping for a peaceful night on Thursday, though. I need one good night, since Friday holds a cut & wax in the afternoon, and W&T have invited me over to a Rocky Horror night in the evening. They are serious, old-school RHPS fans, and have some virgins to educate. Knowing Wens, she'll have props, costumes, and cue sheets to supplement the experience.

And I won't get much of a weekend, either--the laundry will shift to Saturday this week, since I have to fly back out to KC on Sunday afternoon. Ugh. This trip is the whole week, so I will be seventeen kinds of a mess.

And I have to go to a football party on the 21st. The big pig-roast Packer party at Southwoods is that weekend, and it will be a zoo, since it's Green Bay vs. Minneapolis, and that means it'll be fraught with Favre.

I'm taking a vacation day on the 22nd. I'll need it. And since that's the holiday week, the bonus there is that I'll only be working 2 days of it.
The downside, of course, is that I will have to go a-visiting on the 25th. P&E are having their usual Thanksgiving, which would be totally non-stressful...but...P, lovely and kind soul that he is, invited my parents. Oh well. They will probably behave themselves, since they will be company, right? Right?

Reading: Hobby--"Us and the Bottleman", by Edith Ballinger Price (1920) A cute story about a sister and two brothers who pretend to be castaways and send a message in a bottle out on the waves. They begin a correspondence with the finder.


General�"In the Company of Others" (2010), by Jan Karon.

Surfing: "Us and the Bottleman" at Project Gutenberg.

Listening: Sarah McLachlan, Brandon Flowers, John Mellencamp, Cage the Elephant, The Who.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com