rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















hello cell and goodbye hell
October 29, 2010

Well, I'm definitely enamored of my new phone. Stunning, ain't she? Especially for a freebie.

And very nice to use, as well--I've actually broken through a barrier that I've been dealing with for the last few years--I have always had a strange antipathy for using my phone to go online, even though I pay for internet in my plan. I've probably done it twice in the last umpteen years.

This phone makes it so easy, I found myself tweeting and checking my FB status before I knew what hit me. Give me another week of this, and I'll be needing a better data package!

I believe I may have to name this one.

So let me introduce Flora! (because she's gonna be my red menace. And also, she has a lovely floral pattern on her cover.)


I finished up the portal to hell closet-cleaning project. After hauling four huge bags to the donation box, and chucking out an equal amount of crap, I'm finally done. Just needed to force myself to wrap up clearing off the top shelf, sort out a few more odd-n-ends, and brush the whole thing out with a broom--now it's in sweet shape. P will be able to climb into the attic and fix the vent.

And I have my closet back from the squalor monster, for the first time in years. I will actually be able to keep my clothes in my bedroom, instead of my basement! Go me!

Reading: Hobby--"Marjorie's New Friend" (1909), and "Marjorie in Command" (1910), by Carolyn Wells. "New Friend" has a diptheria quarantine in it. I'm fascinated by medical emergencies in these old stories--we are so insulated now from what was once a fact of life--that what we consider to be fairly simple illness could lead to quarantine, and disfigurement, disability, and even death. (And people want to eliminate childhood vaccines!)

The new friend, with the unlikely name of "Delight", is a bit of a touchy little pill, being a spoiled only child. Marjorie's brother calls her "Flossy Flouncy", which cracks me up; as prickly as she is, she doesn't consider that an insult. Damn, I sure would!
General--An old issue of "Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine" (September/Ocotber 1999)

Surfing: .

Listening:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com