rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















everybody out of the pool
October 18, 2010

Ran down to Niles on Saturday, to do some shopping. Meijer for a good stocking up, and the Niles Polish Deli for Kielbasa and smoked butt for Spouse & P. We stopped at Portillo�s and had lunch, then headed back home to get everything put away.

Even thought that wasn�t what you�d call super-strenuous, it wore me completely out, and I ended up curling up in bed with the B and got in a nap before making dinner.

Spouse was insistent on re-trying last week�s culinary experiment�the mashed sweet potatoes because they were so damned good, and the pork chops because they weren�t, and needed to be tweaked. Success! Sweet potatoes were every bit as delicious, and the seasoning on the chops was much improved.


Sunday was busy in earnest. Did 5 loads of laundry, cleaned out the fridge, closed the pool, gave my room a badly needed straightening up, and made both breakfast (bacon, eggs, and toast) and dinner (pot roast with potatoes and carrots), cleaning the kitchen after both (MY style of clean-up. Sink-scrubbing, trash out, etc.).

I got smart with the pool, though. Hired Nephew to come help, for $25.00. I couldn�t believe how much quicker and easier it was with three of us. And it was pretty easy wages for Nephew, for a couple of hours work.

Especially since his soft-touch Uncle decided to double his wages. (AHEM.) Of course he kind of had to�it wasn�t fair that soft-touch Uncle gave his god-daughter $50 for no special reason, then only paid Nephew half that for actual work.

All that exertion turned me wrong-side out, though. Seriously�I have GOT to have a talk with the doc regarding my thyroxine levels. I feel every bit as shitty as I did back in May. Plus, I need to check my Rx status--the bottle is nearly empty, and even though they don't seem to be working, I figure I'd better stay on till he changes it.

Reading: Hobby--"An Old-Fashioned Girl", by Louisa May Alcott

General--"A Light in the Window", by Jan Karon. A light dipping into because I really need a book, and haven't the time to hit the library.

Surfing:

Listening:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com