rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















vote early, vote often
October 15, 2010

10/15/2010 Got my various "thank you" stuff done this week--a thank you card and note off to Auntie and Uncle, a lovely flower arrangement from Cactus Flower in Scottsdale for my cousin & her husband, and for The Boy, a Halloween package containing a card and a boatload of "Bandz"--some Halloween-themed, some pretty generic...and one rather expensive 20-pack of official Milwaukee Brewers Logo Bandz, because I figure they would be pretty rare in Phoenix--and therefore worth a bit more in a trade. (I do have nearly 27 years experience as an aunt, you know.)

As far as I know , only the flowers have been received thus far, but Cousin called yesterday to thank me for them, and let me know that she was quite pleased and surprised to get them. I'm hoping that the cards got there today.


Work was rather a sore trial this week--aside from the obvious pain of returning after a perfectly splendid vacation, we had to endure the onslaught of a major personel move into our area. After months of blissful peace in our little corner of a nearly deserted wing, we had to put up with several days of banging and slamming from the maintenance department as they configured for the new tenants. And today, we had to put up with the whining and contentiousness of an entire department being forced into these new digs. They aren't happy to be moved, and we aren't happy that they are here, so the atmosphere is a bit tense to say the least.

It doesn't help that we successfully defended our turf in the face of this invasion, and they weren't allowed to cherry pick the best bay (ours) for themselves. Some senior people are continuing to be extremely pissy about that. Waaah.

I mean, when I'm upset about shit like this, I may come here and whine my ass off in my diary, but I don't do it in the middle of the office, at the top of my lungs. STFU, ya crybabies. We were already here, and jsut becauser someone evicted you from your cushy first floor spot, doesn't mean you can pay that forward and evict us.

Another blow this week was having to say goodbye to yet another really great person--the one that hired me way back in January of 1996. We have both had interesting career paths there, but she made the decision to go into the public sector, and I think that's awesome. I'm going to miss her, though. She's another foundation of my reality and my history at the company, and it will feel strange to lose her.

The last trying thing about work this week is settling of the travel plans for next month. I ended up getting totally screwed, and have to deal with flying out of the shitty airport, 50 miles from home, and on dates that fuck me over royally (Sunday night! Election Day! Friday Evenings!). I get to stay at their crappy "corporate rate" hotel with no pool. I have to put all this shit on MY credit card, then fill out their byzantine expense reports and cross my fingers that I get reimbursed. I have to put up with exceedingly long days, which they are already weaseling out of paying me for (I'm not salaried, dammit!). I have to find my own way to and from the shitty, 50-miles-away airport, on days when there isn't a chance in hell of getting a ride from anyone.

I get to go where I don't want to go, when I don't want to go, HOW don't want to go, with peopleI don't want to go with, in order to learn what I don't what to learn, and know what I don't want to know.

Ugh.

And because of all that, I even had to go do the early voting thing. Which, in this town, is the same pain in the ass they make of everything. But I don't want to let Russ down, and since I'm getting this trip inflicted on me on the 2nd, it had to be done.
Spouse and I absolutely have to get the pool closed this weekend. Cannot put it off any longer. As it is, I expect to have to spend about 6 hours just on leaf removal. Joy. So I got smart. Called Nephew, who is down from school this weekend. Offered him a chance to make a quick two bits. He's coming over Sunday to help. (Starving college kids don't turn down quick earnings.)

Reading: Hobby--"The Poor Little Rich Girl", by Eleanor Gates. Emmy Lou, Her Book and Heart" by George Madden Martin(1901)

General--"In the Company of Cheerful Ladies", by Alexander McCall Smith (2004). Read it before, but I picked it up at the used bookstore in the Milwaukee airport, since I didn't have my own copy.

Surfing:

Listening:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com