rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the B's beezer
September 28, 2010

Mr. B underwent surgery on his nose yesterday. He had a small growth at the top of his nose pad that needed swift attention, so it didn't get any bigger. Apparently, there isn't much room to maneuver in that spot, so the Doc wanted it dealt with pronto. We don't know if it was cancerous--the histopathology will be back next week. He has 4 stitches, and is on tramadol for pain. He was naturally very wonky last night, but seemed much brighter this morning; he ran out and chased a bunny when I took him outside this morning.


I sent my uncle a birthday card last week with the note that "dropped the bomb". He got it on Saturday, and according to my aunt, it really kicked him into overdrive. He opened it, read it, and announced "I'M having a visitor. MY niece is coming to spend her birthday with ME." Yeah, Uncle can be all about his own thing sometimes. All of a sudden, he was giving orders about what all had to get done around there before my arrival. (Well, at least my aunt's new patio furniture finally got assembled!)

My cousin asked him on Monday what he wanted for his birthday. He whipped my letter out of his pocket and said "I already got what I wanted". My aunt and my cousin are locked in a "custody battle" over who gets to monopolize my time while I'm there. They are drawing lots for who has to stay at home when they come to pick me up at the airport.

These people make me feel so loved.
Meanwhile, I'm trying my best to get organized and get ready to go. I actually had to draw myself up a schedule of tasks for the days leading up to the trip, so I can get it all done. I figured that if I broke things out and did a task or two each day, I could get it all in.

So far, this plan has spurred me to dye my hair, build a beading "mini-kit" to take along, dig out some snapshots I want to share with them, load up my MP3 player, buy new shoes and bras, and draw up some packing lists. Still to come--clean out my purse, get my hair cut, sort out all my electronica (camera, netbook, phone, and all the chargers), and all the other prep stuff, like laundry and packing and so forth. Seems to be working for me.
Had a nice talk with Mom on Friday night--she called, but I let it go to voicemail and then called her back, so it would be on my dime. Or no dime, since my minutes are free on nights and weekends. She sounded reasonably perky. They have been going to my nephew's college football games, and want to get the RV closed up for the season, so they have been pretty busy on the weekends.

She got a new CPAP machine, and it is enabling her to be much more rested. Being MOM, she put up with the ancient and broken (stuck on "windstorm" setting) unit for way too long, and the new, effective, tiny, and quiet one is just a pure pleasure in comparison.

Her doctor changed her blood pressure med, though, because he thought the old one might be exacerbating her asthma. The new one make her feel like she's going to stroke out, and isn't even helping the asthma any. She was planning to bring this up and hopefully get back on the old drug, which was doing a great job controlling the HBP.

In other news, my dad is a crabby old poop. Oh, wait. Turns out that can in no way be construed as "news".
Spouse is locked in a battle of wills with his psych professor, who is really not on top of the whole "tech college" environment. This guy wants to break the class up into units, and apply a "group grading" methodology. If your team members fail to perform, your grade suffers--no matter how hard you study, or the quality of your own work.

This technique may work fine at USC and Vanderbilt (his former employers), but just won't cut it in a school where you can start a 15-week class with 35 students, and by the final, there are 9. Two of whom didn't finish their research paper on time. Spouse pointed this out to him, as well as bringing up the fact that his funding is grade-dependant. He cited examples of how the team-dynamic has failed him in past classes. The guy pretty much blew him off, though he did say that Spouse should at least see it out until the first exam, and then they could talk again.

Believe me, I know my husband, and if this doesn't work for him, he will continue to fight it. And I also know GTC. It won't work.
Got some very annoying news at work today. I will be expected to spend a good chunk of November in Kansas for the project I'm on. SUCK! I hate work travel. I hate work training. I hate being expected to learn a bunch of new crap while being so far outside my personal comfort zone as to make learning all but impossible. I hate the shit they're starting to make me do on this project. I hate the fact that my cheap-ass company makes me do this, then turns around and expects me to book my own travel arrangements on my own credit card, then file with them for reimbursement.

Hate hate hate the whole fucking mess.

Reading: Hobby--finished the four Janice Day books I had, re-read Pollyanna after watching the movie, and am currently reading "Rosemary" (1922) by Josephine Lawrence, and "Pollyanna Grows Up", by Eleanor H. Porter (1915).

General--"Role Models", by John Waters (2010).

Surfing: Been too busy to keep up with my usual blogroll, forget about seeking out anything new.

Listening: Haven't been feeling very musical. Listened to some Jann Arden the other day while loading up Mr. Pilkington for the trip, though.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com