rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















change is good
September 30, 2010

Mr. B's histopathology came back--the growth was benign, and of a type that is unlikely to come back. And he's pretty much back to his normal, happy-go-lucky self. Which is a teeny bit unfortunate, because he's back to wanting to stick his beak in all the wrong places, as well as reverting to his habit of rubbing his face all over the floor. Neither of those behaviors is a good idea when you have stitches in your nose.


Finally got a haircut last night--sorely needed. As was the brow wax. I ended up going too long without, but not out of choice. When your waxer/stylist is in Gdansk, there isn't much to do but sit around and get hairier, waiting for them to get back.

And take the first possible appointment when they do--even if it means you have to go at 7:15 on a Wednesday night.

I always worry about jet lag, if it's her first day back from Poland. But she did a great job, and I'm much happier, even though the grey and the thin spot are showing a bit more than I'd bargained for.
Tonight, I need to finish counting my dimes. I save dimes in glass soda bottles, for some bizarre, OCD reason I don't really understand myself. Mainly because they fit, I think. And once, I had a curiosity bump about how many dollars worth of dimes would fit in a 12-ounce glass pop bottle.

I answered that question eventually ($63 to $65, depending on the brand of bottle), but somehow, the habit of separating my dimes and dropping them into the bottles just stuck with me. I cash out if there's something worth buying, or if I'm going on vacation.

Anyway--I have been saving a good while now, and have one full and one partially full. So I counted out the partial bottle last night, and there's 40 bucks. I'm sure I have over $60 in the full one (experience), but I want to know for sure how much.

And one of the reasons I want to know is that I think the change machine at the credit union--or the operator--is crooked. Most times when I cash in there, I end up with a significantly smaller amount than I'd estimated. This time I'm counting, and noting on the bag, in big black letters: "Counted", with the exact dollar amount. If the machine is crooked, there will be a disparity, but I can bitch about it. And if the teller is crooked, I'm hoping this will make her paranoid enough to be honest. And just to be double sure, I'm going to use a different branch.

Update: I ended up with $104.00.

Reading: Hobby-- "Billie Bradley and Her Inheritance: The Queer Homestead at Cherry Corners" and "Billie Bradley at Three Towers Hall, Or Leading a Needed Rebellion" (1920) by Janet D. Wheeler. Well, they aren't very good. And they certainly aren't very original. (But they're short! and I only have three of 'em!) Formula stories, straight off the Stratemeyer factory assembly line, at the height of its production.

General--"A Salty Piece of Land", by Jimmy Buffett(2004).

Surfing:

Listening: The Beatles, T-Rex, My Morning Jacket

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com