rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















forgotten post from September 14th
September 28, 2010, 6:30 P.M.

forgotten post from September 14th The following is a post I wrote a couple of weeks ago and forgot to actually transfer to DL.


I expect more from Public Radio.
Foolish of me, probably, but I do. I expect them to understand that a Gershwin revue titled 'S Wonderful should have that title pronounce swonderful, not "Ess Wonderful". I expect the newsreader to be able to properly pronounce the names of countries. And while I can understand, just a bit, mispronouncing Kyrgyzstan or Belarus-- (I'm sorry, but CANADA is a country. CANDida is a yeast infection.)
Open letter to the guy who took me to the senior prom:
Yes, I dumped you.

28 years ago.

We've been working in the same building for the last 15 of those years.

You ever gonna get over it, and say hi when we meet in the halls?
Got the latest letter off to Uncle yesterday. The usual 8 pages in 28-point TNR. This isn't the one where I drop the bombshell, though. That's the next one. I talked it over with Auntie and we decided that it would tickle Uncle about half to death if he got to be the one to break the big news to everyone that his niece is coming to visit. (Never mind that everyone has been keeping this a big secret for weeks, and he's the only one who DOESN'T know.)

I'd like to just show up and surprise him, but aside from not wanting to give him a grabber, I am given to understand from Auntie that he doesn't really like such surprises. He prefers a sufficient warning, so he can prepare and get his ducks all lined up. He'll have to get a haircut, and make all his plans. So I'll send him the news in my next letter and time it out so he gets it abut a week before I fly out. Hee!
Went to a birthday party for Spouse's old boss the other day. The old boss & his wife are extremely nice people, and I tried to have a good time. But I just do not mix with the hardcore blue-collar types in this town. Don't really drink, bowl, hunt, fish, play darts, or shoot pool. I actually graduated from High School. Closest I ever came to working in a factory was working for my mom stuffing ads into newspapers, when I was about 14. (I'll take "Iowa Child Labor Laws of the 70's" for a thousand, Alex.)

Anyway--let's add a couple more things I DON'T have in common with these folks--I am currently employed, and I am not currently a student. The student part was kind of interesting, for about five minutes (Then I just felt bored and bitter). All these guys, from their 20s to their 50s, talking about what classes they were taking and what instructors they had and what their grades were.

For, you know, their completely free education. That they got for working a few years. For a company that failed.

That can really get under your skin, if you have been supporting your family with a continuous 21 years of employment, and have nothing much to show for it but grey hair and a repetitive motion injury.

Not that I'm bitter, or anything.



Reading: Hobby--"Janice Day in Poketown", by Helen Beecher Long (1917)

Preaching temperance and (not unusual in series from this period) decrying the use of slang. And, I think she's going to off about damage that can be caused by the slanders of acid-tongued gossips.

Oh, and question--was "Jefers-pelters" an actual swear, back in the day? Or was it some kind of syndicate-approved euphemism for a swear? I've run across it in the Central High, Ruth Fielding, and at least one other series (Ethel Morton, maybe?), and now it's popped up in Janice Day. General--"Dead Run", by Richard Lockridge(1976)

Surfing: .

Listening: The Zombies, The Jayhawks, Michelle Shocked

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com