rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















fairly good time
August 11, 2010

Well, we went to the WI State Fair yesterday, and aside from it being oppressively hot and humid, it was rather a nice time. I took lots of pictures, had some fun spoiling an 11-year-old, bought a cherry pitter, drank lots of lemonade shake-ups and ate a small amount of fair food, saw the sights, walked through the barns, spent quite a while in the building with the competition results, and poured sweat in a most un-ladylike way for four solid hours, soaking completely through every single stitch I had on.

I was so red that Spouse actually got worried, and decided we'd had enough, based on my beet-red complexion. Fortunately, our young guest was also ready to call it done, so we cut out at about 1:00 pm. (Also fortunately--the kid HATES carnival rides. Yippee! Off the hook for the midway!)

The funny thing is--aside from being hideously hot, I actually felt pretty good.

I know--amazing, right? My feet weren't killing me, my hip didn't hurt, my neck didn't hurt, I didn't feel like passing out...even more amazing, I didn't feel like throwing up. Just hot. That was it.

Of course, in the tummy department, I was trying to be careful. Quite literally going with my gut, I skipped the roasted sweet corn entirely this year--it just didn't sound good. In fact, I avoided most things to eat. My total consumption was pretty reasonable for State Fair. I took two bites from Spouse's cream puff, and a tiny taste of the cheeseburger on a Krispy Kreme thing he had to try. I had a corndog, I split my Fresh Fries three ways with the guys, and limited myself to an 8-ounce apple cider. The only thing I went nuts on was the lemonade. And when you're sweating like I was, there are worse things to consume than large amounts of ice-water containing small amounts of sugar and lemon.

We got home about three, and it was dog first, shower second, Benadryl third. After which I hung out in the house, curtains drawn, air on, fans blowing. I just played on the computer. I'd had quite enough of the outdoors for one day. Can't even go swimming anyway; too hot in the daytime and too buggy at night. Going out in that steamy, still, mosquito-infested jungle at night is insane. Going out wearing only a swimsuit is suicidal.

Eventually, we called a delivery order over to Antonio's, and had dinner about 7:00. Pizza for him, a "sanguitch" (meatball bomber) for me. After dinner, more farting around on the PC and then aspirin, more Benadryl, and an extra dose of Pepcid, then beddy-bye for me. I slept like death until 4:00, got up & peed, then passed back out for another 30 minutes, waking up about 30 seconds before the alarm went off. Feeling, amazingly enough, not too bad.


I decided to take all the pictures and put together a slide show to send to Phoenix. I took like 50 photos, so printing could get just a little spendy. And this way, I can put in title cards and "talk" them through it. Auntie will take Uncle over to their daughter's house to watch it on the big screen, so he can see the pictures really well.

I got started yesterday (the playing on the computer mentioned above), and I can tell it's going to take quite a bit off time and effort on my part to do this in Movir Maker. But it's worth it, for Uncle.

And besides--my loudmouth husband has already been on the phone telling Arizona all about it, so I'm committed to it. (I really need to have another talk with him about how douchy it is to do that kind of shit.)


Reading: Hobby--"Patty's Suitors"(1914) by Carolyn Wells
In which Patty spends a big chunk of the book torturing, teasing, and toying with a guy she found when she called a wrong number. And I spend a big chunk of the book wanting to slap her for it. Really, how this character gets away with the most obnoxious behavior and snows everyone into believing she's such a lady is beyond me.

General--re-reading "These High Green Hills", by Jan Karon.

Surfing: .

Listening: Joe Jackson, Jack Johnson, and...(I really wish I could say Jake Johannssen right here!) The Go-Gos

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com