rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















circular
August 12, 2010.

So. I'm sitting reading Carolyn Wells, and there's a reference to the poem "Casabianca". It gets me thinking about the poem, kinda reciting it in my head. The boy stood on the burning deck, etc.

That, in turn, reminded me of a parody I liked when I was a kid. I couldn't remember too much about it; just that it had lines from lots of the classic recitation poems from the days when kids had elocution lessons and were shown off for company, reciting memorized performance pieces. And one line--"Shoot if you must this old gray head, King Henry of Navarre!"

Googlicious! Typed the line in, found the poem. It's called
An Overworked Elocutionist:

There was once a little boy whose name was Robert Reese;
And every Friday afternoon he had to speak a piece.
So many poems thus he learned, that soon he had a store
Of recitations in his head...and still kept learning more.


And now this is what happened: He was called upon one week
And totally forgot the piece he was about to speak.
He brain he cudgeled. Not a word remained within his head!
And so he spoke at random, and this is what he said:


My beautiful, my beautiful, who standest proudly by,
It was the schooner Hesperus�the breaking waves dashed high!
Why is this Forum crowded? What means this stir in Rome?
Under a spreading chestnut tree, there is no place like home!


When freedom from her mountain height cried, Twinkle, little star,
Shoot if you must this old gray head, King Henry of Navarre!
Roll on, thou deep and dark blue castled crag of Drachenfels,
My name is Norval, on the Grampain Hills, ring out, wild bells!


If you�re waking, call me early, to be or not to be,
The curfew must not ring tonight! Oh, woodman, spare that tree!
Charge, Chester, charge! Oh, Stanley, on! and let who will be clever!
The boy stood on the burning deck, but I go on forever!


His elocution was superb, his voice and gestures fine;
His schoolmates all applauded as he finished the last line.
I see it doesn�t matter, Robert thought, what words I say,
So long as I declaim with oratorical display.

Oh, and the poet?

Turned out to be Carolyn Wells.

Reading: Hobby--"Patty's Suitors"(1914) by Carolyn Wells
Patty's gone to a house party, and ended up quarantined with diptheria! Along with two of her endless array of admirers!

General--re-reading "These High Green Hills", by Jan Karon.

Surfing: .

Listening: Tanita Tikaram, Teenage Fanclub, Muse

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com