rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















blue Monday
August 9, 2010

Couldn't sleep for shit last night. The tossing, turning and the wind from the fan resulted in a righteously screwed up shoulder today.

Day sucked all around, from beginning to end. The alarm went off, I reached over and hit the button, and it was like I flipped a switch. All hell broke loose outside--lightening, thunder, wind, and torrential rain came from the skies directly over my house. Yay.

Slogged to work through the downpour, only to find that a critical meeting had to be cancelled, because one attendee another had a conflict and had to decline, and another suddenly decided to take a vacation day. Sure, why not? Why worry about deadlines, huh?

Then had to deal with a project that almost killed me last week, only to be taken off the schedule on Thursday. And, as of this morning, be put back ON the schedule.

A project to which I have been assigned, despite the fact that I don't know thing one about the product, the system it is processed on currently, or the system it will be processed on in future.

An all-too-typical move on the part of my boss. She is FAMOUS around there for insisting her staff take on projects about which they know nothing, in order to "broaden their expertise".

Which wouldn't be the worst thing in the world, except for one thing. She always assigns projects this way. Meaning no matter how many hundreds of things we work on, and become expert at, we are never, ever allowed to apply our expertise to anything.


The storms passed eventually--to make way for a miserably steamy day. Traffic sucked, which is always a treat on a miserably steamy day, in a car with no air conditioning, when the the late-afternoon sun beats down on the driver's side.

Which lasted, as is common lately, just long enough for me to get home and desperately crave a dip. Then the weather turned to shit once more. And it's supposed to be loke this all week!

Which should make tomorrow a veritable delight. I'm stuck going to the damned fair. Dragging a stray kid along.

Somebody kill me tonight, please?

Reading: Hobby--"Patty's Suitors",(1914) by Carolyn Wells

General--re-reading "A Light in the Window", by Jan Karon. I love these stories, even though I have to skim a lot to get past the Episcopalian proselytizing. But hey--what can you expect when the main character is a rector?

I picked up a couple more of these books for my set when I went to Goodwill the other day. But I need to dig out all the ones I have now, and take inventory. I'm to the point where I'll be duplicating if I don't. I've been lucky to find so many used copies; but I find it puzzling, because these are the kind of books I love to revisit frequently. I can't understand why so many people get rid of them. Oh, well. My gain.

Surfing: .

Listening: Katrina and the Waves, Marc Cohn, The Four Seasons. Because the fitness mafia at work were propagandizing over the speakers today. To inflict their latest scheme (a walking program), they subjected us to "walking" songs. Thus, "I'm Walking on Sunshine", "Walking in Memphis", "Walk Like a Man", and the like. Well, it certainly made ME want to "take a walk".

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com