rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Dear Wal-mart. If you scan it, and I pay for it, then YOU KEEP IT, that's called STEALING.
July 19, 2010

Went to the NMRA train show on Saturday. I never have really high expectations when I go to a train show, but I still found it disappointing. No Lionel, which is Spouse's thing. And not enough old dining car stuff, which is mine. We did find a great poster to frame for the living room; we've been looking for something for the east wall ever since we redecorated. It's a repro (23"x34")of a deco-esque Canadian Pacific locomotive. And it was only $10.00! I'm going to get it matted and framed, as the rest of Spouse's anniversary present.

After spending a couple of hours at the show, Spouse called P for a recommendation of a lunch place. He sent us to a place called Mazo's, an unprepossessing little hamburger place that's been around since 1934. And, I might add, there's a very good reason they've hung around that long: FABULOUS. Fresh, juicy, yummy, FABULOUS. Malt, burgers, fries, cole slaw, and even the iced tea were simply exceptional, and the service was the kind of friendly that I didn't think existed in Milwaukee. And the prices were super-reasonable, as well. Definitely going to be having that again.


Spouse had to call Auntie up and tell her all about his day, of course. That's getting to be a real habit with him. But he was totally flabbergasted when he told her about the train show, and she dropped the bombshell that she was once a Zephyrette on the California Zephyr from Chicago to San Fransisco.

I'm pretty sure he was already in love with my aunt, but if he wasn't--he sure is now.

Honestly--I had been told, when I was a child, that my aunt used to be a stewardess. But when I found out that it was on a train, and not on a plane, I remember I lost interest. And I'd forgotten all about it, to tell the truth. So when she dropped that bomb, I was almost as shocked as Spouse. And this time around, I was a lot more impressed.

My aunt doesn't romanticize it, though. I quote: "There isn't any perfume sold at the biggest department stores that will cover up the smell of diesel."
Went to Wal-Mart yesterday; Spouse needed some weed killer and wanted to checkout the re-model of the Gurnee store. I poked around, and even though I didn't really need anything, I bought a reasonably cute--and reasonably opaque--summer top for nine bucks. And I found a nice colander for a buck-fifty. Then, as I was foraging in the clearance, I picked up a set of 101 Wilton cookie cutters, for a ten-spot! Great set--it has letters, numbers, holiday shapes, animals--pretty much everything you would want. Once cookie season comes around, I am going to be way ready!

Oh--and you know what else I bought? A bagful of VitaminWater that I did. not. fucking. get.

Damn, I am starting to get a righteous rage a-goin' re: this missing purchases thing that happens about one out of every four visits to a Wally's. And it doesn't even matter which one I go to--it happens at all of them!

And if I drive more than a couple of miles to get there, it is never going to be worth it to me to go back for whatever they decided to keep. I mean--5 bucks worth of stuff is not worth taking another couple of hours and driving to Gurnee and back aqain. So they win.

I can't say for sure if this is one of those things that only seems to happen to me, but I almost hope it is--because I'd hate to think what kind of obscene profit they would make from it is this nefarious behavior is widespread.
I up and quit FarmVille yesterday--I've been getting steadily more frustration and less fun out of it for quite some time, and I finally maxed out. The constant bugs in it, the growing feeling that I was the only one of my "neighbors" that was still bothering, the major time-suck it had become for me, and the sense of obligation that had me dreading, instead of looking forward to playing...enough. Done.
So I took the time I saved and went and made myself a necklace instead. A very simple one. Strung, collarbone length, using pale blue and clear beads, some frosted, some faceted, and a magnetic clasp. I needed something to go with my blue top for work, so I rummaged around in the bead box and got to work.
Really not an exciting weekend. Too darn hot, for one thing.

And I'm feeling terribly passive, for another. Very droopy and flat. Nothing seems to be good, and all I can see is the worm in the apple. Work's a bitch. My friend is still in the hospital, sicker than ever. I see way too much of Spouse, and he's starting to really get on my nerves. All that kind of little stuff that I know I have to be vigilant about, because of the depression thing--and now the thyroid thing.

And speaking of that--the worm in the apple, thyroid, etc.--it's time once again for the continuing adventures of Shitty Drug Plan Girl!
I got a voice mail from my drug plan, and an automated voice requested me to call back. Oh, holy night, was that ever a mistake. Apparently I don't have the kind of voice that's easily understood by voice recognition software, because I lost count of how many tries it took me to finally get far enough into their system to speak to an actual human. Once I did, though, I do have to admit that the CSR was sensational.

The problem? Well, let it be a lesson to all: a 30-day prescription with two refills is NOT the same thing as a 90-day prescription. And my doctor had sent them the former, not the latter. But I also was able to confirm that I CAN pick up my pills at my local pharmacy (not that THAT option is any picnic; see last month), so I canceled the mail order, called my Doc's office this morning, and asked them to send a NINETY-day Rx to my pharmacy. We'll see how that goes, hmmm? Stay tuned--I'm sure I haven't finished dealing with these criminals. You know, if I was on something that ran to two hundred bucks a month, I could understand why they are trying to do me out of my medicine. But it's an 11-dollar drug, and I have an 8-dollar copay! It's costing them a max of 3 lousy bucks a month!
I stopped at Walgreen's on the way home to cheer myself up. We have a school supplies drive coming up, and they are having a big sale. I was able to get 6 notebooks, 4 packs of filler paper, 4 glue sticks, 11 folders, 20 pencils, and 20 pens for less than 10 bucks.

I love bargains, I love shopping for school supplies, and I love any kind of a "drive". So that perked me up a little.

Reading: Hobby--"Patty in Paris", by Carolyn Wells c.1907

General--re-reading Ruth Rendell's "Road Rage". Say THAT three times, fast.

Surfing: Catalog Living. Mildly enjoyable snark.

Listening: Wilco, Crosby, Stills Nash, Cage the Elephant, The Police.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com