rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















mulling it over
July 21, 2010

Click recede for Monday's post

Hello, Diaryland? Can I come in now?

I just got to post Monday's entry. And it's only Wednesday. Is it me? Is it the site? Beats me, but I seem to have this trouble every so often. But what am I gonna do--bitch about the free service I've been provided since 2004? Bottom line is, I get a helluva sweet deal here, and I like it.

Even if it really is time to change hosts, I really don't want to futz with moving over six years worth of archives. Maybe I'll just put them on a flash drive, and keep them to myself. Maybe I'll leave it alone, and just start fresh elsewhere. I don't know.

Actually, I really should start backing them up on a drive, no matter what else I do. It is my diary, after all.





Reading: Hobby--"Patty's Friends", by Carolyn Wells c.1908 In which Patty visits England, and apparently befriends the inventors of "Textspeak":

"That's the point," said Bob, "most sentences, at least, the ones we use most, _are_ easy. If I should meet you unexpectedly, and say H d y d? you'd know I meant How do you do? Or if I took leave, and said G b, you'd understand good-bye. Those are the simplest possible examples. Now, on the other hand, if I were to read you a long speech from the morning paper, you'd probably miss many of the long words, but that's the other extreme. We've talked in initials for years, and rarely are we uncertain as to the sense, though we may sometimes skip a word here and there."

General--re-read of "Road Rage", by Ruth Rendell.

Surfing: Lint. Lileks at Tumblr.

Listening: The Best of Arlo Guthrie

At Random:
click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com