rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















speedy delivery
July 16, 2010

07-16-10 Packages received at their respective destinations, and lots of positive feedback from Auntie regarding the jam, and Uncle's letter. They had biscuits and jam for breakfast yesterday, and were delighted by it. Auntie informed me that I "mustn't lose the recipe". Hee. That would be hard to do, since it comes in every box of sure-jell. Told her it wasn't the recipe, but was the strawberries that made it good. You have to get strawberry farm berries to make good jam--grocery store berries simply will not work. They are the wrong variety.

As for the letter, Uncle is really getting a kick out of my correspondence, apparently. And since he has a reading test today, he has decided that my letters are going to be his reading sample. The test is for his comprehension and since my letters are clear enough so that he doesn't have to fight the vision issue, it will level the playing field for him.

Also, I sent him a photo of Mr. B, and he was delighted. More pictures, I 've been instructed. He wants to see the house, the pool, what I drive, and a decent picture of the two of us.

I told Spouse last night that I really need to get out and do more stuff--I need things I can write to Uncle about!

As for Dad's package, Mom called Spouse to let him know it had been delivered, but I never heard anything more.

That's Dad for you. Is it any wonder I appreciate my Aunt & Uncle so much?


So, in view of needing to do more stuff, we are planning to go to the National Model Railroaders Association Convention in Milwaukee this weekend. Spouse is a long-time fan of model trains, and I enjoy them as well. I just wish he'd do more with the hobby--we have a load of Lionel stuff in the basement, including a partially completed layout that he started and then wandered away from. I think I'm going to force the issue this fall and winter--get him to put some time into working on it.
Weather has been dreadfully hot this week; I stole Spouse's Pontiac on Wednesday and Thursday, just for the air conditioning. I hate driving it, since it doesn't have cruise. Between having to keep my foot on the gas, folding my fat self into those crippling bucket seats, and trying to climb in and out of it, my poor bad hip doesn't stand a chance. Not to mention the fact that I can't light up in there. So it says a lot about the screaming heat that I put up with all that just for working air.

Still, it broke for a bit last evening, and I convinced Spouse to put his suit on and join me for a dip. The air was 81 and the pool was 89, so it was enjoyable and relaxing. Supposed to head back up to the 90s and stay there for the foreseeable future, though.

So I did the logical thing and got a haircut this afternoon. This is no weather to walk around with a horse blanket on your head.

Reading: Hobby--"Patty's Summer Days", by Carolyn Wells c.1906. I believe this is the fourth Patty book; I zoomed right through the second, and I can't find the third, but I don't think it's going to kill the narrative to skip that one.

General--"The Neighbor", by Lisa Gardner.

Surfing: I Write Like. I ran four recent posts through it, and was told I write like Chuck "Fight Club" Palahniuk, David Foster Wallace, H.P. Lovecraft, and Stephen King. Umm, thanks! (I think)

Listening: Janis Joplin, King Crimson, The Killers

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com