rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















my blue heaven is hot as hell
July 07, 2010

I could really use a cold front. When the pool temp is over 90° and so is the air, it isn't worth getting into the water. Not that I was planning on it; it's storming like a sumbitch out there at the moment.


I love keeping in touch with my family via Facebook, but I've gotta stop telling Spouse what my redneck relatives are up to. Once he gets done mocking them to my face, he calls my aunt in Phoenix and regales her with tales of their hillbilly ways. (Actually, they aren't hillbillies, they're river rats, but he doesn't know the difference.)

Yes, there is a reason I live here, and not there. I am an urban soul, and could not thrive in their little world of dirt-track racing, country music, mud-buggin', and "goin' to the river". It's a place where everybody knows every bit of everybody else's business, and I knew when I was fifteen that I had to get out.

But they are my family, and I love (most of) them. I don't appreciate the abuse my husband heaps on them. And since he refuses to "get sucked into Facebook", as he puts it, I figure I'll just stop telling him what's going on with them, and what he doesn't know won't bug me. Next time he asks, I'll just say I haven't heard anything from them.
Speaking of Auntie, she sent us a big box of Certa's caramels! It was waiting on the doorstep when we got home yesterday. So we gave her a jingle. She had enclosed a page from a jewelry catalog and a note asking me why the necklace she'd circled had a $650 price tag. Simple answer--in the description, it mentioned that the beads were oxidized sterling and natural aquamarine. But if I could get the beads, I'd love to do it in glass and pewter to get the same effect as a reasonable price. Towards that end, my cousin is going to take a copy of the picture to their local bead store, and see if she can get the supplies, and if she can, she'll ship them to me and I'd make the necklace. No pressure--but it involves a hella lot of wrapped loops, and I'm TERRIBLE at wrapped loops! It's hard to convince them that I don't have endless skills with the beads--they think I'm some kind of beady genius.

And according to the Aunt--Uncle has read the letter several times; he can pretty much recite it verbatim at this point. And will. All this, though, is very good. They are very worried about his short-term memory, and something like that shows he can still retain things pretty well if they interest him. The hard part, though, is finding things that he can engage in (and be engaged by), given the obstacles he has to negotiate. I'm more determined than ever to keep writng him.
I forget--did I mention that I came home from vacation to find out that ExBoss turned CurrentBoss had turned back into ExBoss in my absence? Why do I always get screwed when I go on vacation!? There's been further finagling in the corporate structure, and I have another (holy crap!) female AVP to report to. Have I ever mentioned that I think 99% of the female executives there are insecure neurotics that regularly sabotage themselves and their staff? It's bad enough that my rather fractured job duties have me working under three separate AVPs right now; why did they have to make them ALL WOMEN?

Anyway. ExBoss stopped by my desk this morning to report that a co-worker/workfriend who was supposed to be back to work tomorrow after a vacation to Europe was, in fact, in the hospital, and hoping she wouldn't lose her big toe to gangrene. You really gotta watch those blisters--they can turn on you. I'll circulate a card at work tomorrow and drop it off, along with some flowers, on my way home. Now I want to go catch up on my TiFaux recordings. Finish de Havilland & Clift in "The Heiress", then watch Holliday & Douglas in "The Solid Gold Cadillac".

Reading: Hobby--"The Outdoor Girls at Wild Rose Lodge or The Hermit of Moonlight Falls" (c.1921), by "Laura Lee Hope" (Elizabeth M. Duffield Ward) Oh, you go girl! MACE that mugger!
"He waved his revolver once more, eliciting a terrified gurgle from Grace and commanded roughly that they get out of the car.

"No funny business," he snarled. "Get out!"

Betty was about to obey when she had a brilliant thought. Her pepper gun! She had bought it the day before from the son of her father's chauffeur, thinking it was an undesirable plaything for a nine-year-old boy and had put it, as the most convenient place, in her car. And the pepper gun was filled-- as it should have been-- with good red cayenne pepper!


General--"L is for Lawless", by Sue Grafton. Just a grazer. I read it years ago when it came out, but I don't remember much about it. It was just about when I got bored with Kinsey and gave up the series.

Surfing: Oh, would that it were real

Listening: Kings of Leon, Arcade Fire, David Bowie, REM with Natalie Merchant

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com