rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















care packages
July 12, 2010

We went to Niles on Friday; Spouse decided that he really wanted to go to Meijer this week. I was okay with it, as they usually have dynamite fruit, plus I needed both oatmeal and coffee, and I like theirs best. I hadn't gotten any breakfast or lunch, though and that screwed me up royally. As Spouse knows full well--yet he does it to me anyway as a form of dominance. By the time he finally condescended to let me eat, I was to the point where dinner made me sick. I hope he really frickin' enjoys that--listening to me maoning and wailing away behind the bathroom door.

It isn't as if I'm less than candid with him--I tell him that I need to eat regularly, and if I don't, I end up sick. I came home from work and stressed that lunch was particularly important that day, as I had been too busy at work in the morning to have my oatmeal. Guh.

Anyway. I was even disappointed in the fruit--the plums were sour, the Honeyrock melon was rotten, and the watermelon was bland.


Saturday, Spouse installed the new disposal, so of course I was forced to meet my cupboard cleaning goal for once--I had to empty the one under the sink so he could plumb and wire the unit. And as long as you have it all pulled out, might as well put it back right.

The garbage disposal is awesome, by the way. I think the old one was really showing its age at 20+; the Waste King is fast, tough, efficient, and wow, is it quiet! I'm loving it so far.

After that, we did various household chores, ran a few errands, and went to the postal station at the hardware store to pick up a couple of shipping boxes. Once I priced it out, I found that flat-rate Priority Mail beats UPS ground for time and price. Plus, the box is free!

Then we came home and made up a parcel for Dad, with his Father's Day gift and his strawberry jam, and a box for Uncle, with jars of jam and horseradish, along with another letter. I was surprised that I had so much to say, but I managed about 5 pages in his TNR-28 font, plus another page with a photo of my dog. Hope those two old farts appreciate me!

The rather unpredictable weather this weekend curtailed my swimming, but I still got in some pool time Friday and Saturday. And wonder of wonders--Spouse actually got in the pool! Twice! Sick as it sounds, he really only loves the water when it's 90 or more in there.
Sunday I got up, made some coffee, and started in on the laundry. Once spouse got up, we had a continental breakfast and then he did more housework while I continued the laundry and ran some computer updates on my netbook. Then we got dressed and headed up towards Milwaukee. We hit the Post Office by the airport (they are open Sundays, how cool) and shipped the boxes, then drove over to Greenfield News & Hobby to pick through their immense magazine selection, and stopped at Sendik's in Franklin on the way home, for some produce and some Black Bear real sugar soda.

When we got home, I finished the laundry, and we decided we were too lazy to cook, so we ran to the Gateway Cafe for dinner.
Got my test results back from my doctor Saturday; seems the current dose of Synthroid is adequate. They didn't send details, but I landed in the normal range this time and so I stay on this dose and get another test in 3 months.

Which means I am forced to go to mail order for my drug. This sucks for many reasons; I think they intentionally make the process incomprehensible in order to discourage insureds from actually getting their drugs. Also, I don't like to be forced to use my credit card by outside forces, and mail order kind of does that. I was tempted to go off-plan and just pay cash, since it's only eleven bucks. But the insurance company gets a report, and if I don't show up as getting my drugs for a condition they know I have, they will bug me with letters and phone calls. Friggin' nanny society.

Still, I feel kind of funny bitching about a little thing like that, when others have real life-threatening issues. I have a friend in the hospital right now with a gangrenous toe and acute renal failure from the antibiotics used to treat the infection. I could be a lot worse off.

Reading: Hobby-- Finished up the first twelve volumes of "The Outdoor Girls", and that was all of them I had. Overall, I think it was a pretty good series. I didn't end up hating anyone. Now, I'm getting ready to start on the Patty Fairfield series by Carolyn Wells. These start a little earlier than I usually do, but the books are recommended by Redeeming Qualities, So I'll try them out. First is "Patty Fairfield", c.1901

General--"The Neighbor", by Lisa Gardner. Looking for a book at Wal-mart, there isn't much that suits me, but Lisa Gardner is always a good read--especially at $5.97. And this one seems to link back with "Say Goodbye", which I just read recently.

Surfing: So long, Harvey Pekar...you true original.

Listening: Jackson Browne, Michael Martin Murphy, Sister Hazel, Cheap Trick.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com