rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















So here's a summary of my recent past.
July 06, 2010

On my Wednesday off last week, I got a letter from my uncle in Phoenix, which was kind of cool. And since I had no plans for the afternoon, I sat right down and wrote him back. He is deaf, and since his stroke he has had vision problems that make it hard for him to lip-read, so he gets quite cut off from what is going on. So I figured a letter, printed, and in a great big font, would be something he could and would enjoy. It was about a three page letter, but in Times Roman 28-point, it ran to seven. I had to print it two-sided, just to get it in the envelope.

But according to my aunt, he loves getting mail, especially from family. A simple little "what's up with us" letter will make his week. He just got it today, and she said on the phone that he's guarding it jealously and won't let anyone else read it. She says he'll carry it around with him for a week, and read it a dozen times or more.

FYI--I'm already taking notes on what to include in my next letter.


I had to do some serious internet pre-shopping this week, as Spouse had tasked me with locating a sun canopy for the backyard. He had specific dimensions, design, and pricing requirements in mind, and it had to be locally available because he wanted it for Sunday.

Well, I bow to no one in my skills, and am happy to say that I found a model that was close to perfect--10'x10' Sierra II Easy-Up Shelter, $59.99, in-stock at the nearest Farm & Fleet. His price was less than do-able, unfortunately, since it is no longer 1995, and you just can't get one of these for 40 bucks any more. But! Still quite cheap and otherwise perfect! I rock!

The other item I had to throw my skills at was a new garbage disposal. It has been in the process of dying for over a month; Spouse even replaced the wall switch because he couldn't accept that it was the main unit going phht. But it picked the holiday weekend to give up the ghost.

Fortunately, this is the one item where you can go to a perfectly marvelous website that gives you a summarized report based on hundreds of individual online reviews (see surfing link below). Spouse and I initally considered the inexpensive, made in WI, Badger series from InSinkErator. But based on the overwhelmingly negative reviews, we reversed ourselves and found a unit that is reasonably priced, extremely well-regarded, easy to install, and locally available. So we ran to Best Buy and picked up the Waste King L-2600 for $90. I could have saved us nearly thirty dollars on it, but Spouse didn't want to order it through Amazon, in case there was a problem & he had to return it. Plus, he's a wrench-head. He has to look over and touch everything before he can decide to buy it.
Friday and Saturday were exhausting; getting ready to have company is SUCH a chore. My energy levels have improved some. I'm no longer too tired to even think about starting things, but it doesn't take much effort to use it all up again. All that shopping, cleaning, laundry, pool maintenance, food prep, and party setup still wiped me out to the point that by the time company arrived, I wasn't FIT for company.

Still, I had a better weekend than the B. For the first time since he came to us, he was bothered by fireworks. VERY bothered, poor baby. It got so he wouldn't go out and potty until he was ready to burst, because every time he did, some neighborhood asshat had to set off an explosion.

The pool party picnic with P&E went very well, I have to admit. (I perked up after my first dip in the pool.) We had a good time getting together, the new canopy provided sorely needed shade in our sunny backyard, the food was all great (charcoal-grilled steaks and corn, antipasto, asian noodle, and fresh fruit salads, and homemade ice cream), the water was perfect, and the weather was hot-but-decent(The storm held off till the party was over the clean-up was complete).
Yesterday was pretty mellow; ran some errands, went swimming, went to chiro and got my hip fixed--kind of. It hurts as much, but in a different way, when I get it popped back. The muscles are trying to find their way back into place, I guess. Today was back to work--chauffeured by Spouse, since it is way too damn hot to drive the car with no air. And we had to stop at St. Cat's on the way home--time for a blood draw to find out if I need the synthroid tweaked. After jabbing and poking repeatedly in my right arm, the guy got out the butterfly needle and took it from a vein he managed to locate on the left. So I have TWO ugly bruises.

Well, me for another dip before I put the cover back on for tonight. I'm not crazy about the temperature; the water is at 90° and it's like swimming in bathwater. Not even refreshing. But I still would rather be swimming than almost anything else.

Reading: Hobby--"The Outdoor Girls at the Hostess House, Or, Doing Their Best for the Soldiers" c.1919, "The Outdoor Girls at Bluff Point, Or; a Wreck and a Rescue", c. 1920 by "Laura Lee Hope" (Elizabeth M. Duffield Ward) This sounds a lot racier than it is: "I tell you what," she added. "Let's all just get undressed and tumble into the big bed and--enjoy ourselves." The suggestion was unanimously accepted, and thereafter various soft and filmy garments flew thick and fast as the girls got ready for the treat which had been postponed all through the long, long day--almost the longest they had ever known."
(Psst! They are getting ready to read their mail.)

General--"L is for Lawless", by Sue Grafton.

Surfing: I wish everything I ever had to buy had a terrific review summary site like this

Listening: Steely Dan, Van Morrison, Al Stewart

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com