rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















utter hell on earth it is, then
May 24, 2010

We seem to have made the annual shift, straight from cold & clammy to hot & sticky. We're having a heatwave, and I don't handle them well in the best of circumstances. Which this isn't, since the levee broke on Friday evening. Saturday was manageable until around lunchtime, when I was overcome by several hours of intense pain that radiated out from my midsection and took over my entire body. Sunday was spent pretty much bleeding to death. Today is pretty bad as well, but at least I can manage it without changing my clothes four times in one day.

Yep. Despite the super-plus tampon AND the overnight maxi-pad, I managed to gush right through to my clothes four times between getting up and going to bed. I believe that may be a new personal worst for me. Oh, why couldn't it have been menopause?!

Any way, due to my condition and the oppressive weather, Spouse decided to wait till next weekend to open the pool. I can't say I'm sorry--I wouldn't have been able to help much, or swim at all, so it can wait.


Did I mention that my Vitamin D is low? No big surprise, really. At the end of winter, in the "land of the never-present sun", I'd be surprised if it wasn't a little low. But I diligently went to Wally's on Friday and picked up a bottle of Vitamin D supplement. And discovered another pice of evidence to support my "People don't bother to grow the fuck up anymore" theory: gummie vitamins for adults.

Oh, I bought them. What the heck--I don't particularly like swallowing pills, and I already take enough of the damned things to rattle like a maraca. A couple of gummies in the course of the day, my calcium + D and magnesium pills with dinner, (and vitamin C if I think I need it), I should be good to go. Until the next thing they tell me is deficient, anyway.
We ran down to McHenry to the Meijer on Saturday morning. Grocery shopping, yes--but more importantly, I wanted to see what was available in the summer clothes.

WOWZERS.

I hit a regular clothes shopping bonanza--seven new summer tops, two pairs of shorts, a new pair of black shoes for work, and they even had a pair of Gloria Vanderbilt "Amanda" jeans in my size!

For a mere $138.94, yet. Dang, I love that place.
Life was exceedingly sucktacular today, from Spouse getting all control freaky and insisting driving me to work, through the stacked up urgent voice mails waiting at my desk, to the emergency remediations of three different versions of the program, to crucial team members cancelling out of our meeting, et cetera, yada, and so on. (The crushing blow was the discovery that the ladies room vending machine now dispenses a cheap, off-brand pad instead of Stayfree).

And Spouse had his share of trouble, as well. He went to get his books, and they told him the money wasn't available. So he had to trek from the bookstore to student services, where they ALSO told him there was no money. So he had to get in the car and drive across town to the government offices where these things are handled, where he was told, in so many words, "Bullshit. The money IS available." He got a printout of the funding authorization, got back in the car and drove back across town to the school, so he could straighten student services out and finally get his books.

And my poor baby does't handle bureaucratic bullshit at all well...

Reading:"The Well of Lost Plots", by Jasper Fforde. "The Meadow-Brook Girls in the Hills, or The Missing Pilot of the White Mountains" by Janet Aldridge. Oh, fercryinoutloud! How many times does that lisping twit have to fall off a mountain, before her companions give up and throw her off? You would think that even the most careless, thick-witted clot would start being careful after nearly plunging to her death twice. Yeah, well, then there's Tommy. You know you're dealing with an utter putz when the character's catchphrase is "Thave me!". I'd just once like to see one of her friends tell her to "Thuck it, thtupid."

Surfing: Chinese Wal-Marts.

Listening:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com