rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















so easter happened
April 05, 2010

Went down to Niles after work on Friday and braved the Good Friday crowds at the Polish deli, since it isn't Easter for Spouse if there is no real kielbasa and rye bread. We also hit the Meijer for groceries while we were down there, and I snagged some beautiful asparagus for only 99 cents a pound, as well as grapes, cantaloupe, Pink Lady apples, and strawberries, frozen entrees to pack for work lunches, instant oatmeal for work breakfasts, one of their beatiful pork loins cut into chops, and some kosher-for-Passover Coke.

Yes, I am aware that kosher Coke and a pork loin seem like an odd combination--but the Coke is strictly a quality thing. As much as I've enjoyed the Pepsi Throwback, Coke made from real sugar is even better!

So between having Kielbasa for supper Friday night, Spouse baking a ham on Saturday, and brunch at the Polish Center on Sunday, I feel a little like a salt-cured hog myself today.

I think it was bothering Spouse, too--even if he'd never come out and admit it. He mentioned that his feet and ankles were bothering him, despite the fact that I gave him a complete foot spa treatment on Saturday: I got out the foot bath and gave him a cherry-almond foot soak with vibration, heat, & bubbles that lasted 30 minutes, then I broke out the grapefruit and chamomile salt scrub and did an exfoliation. I wrapped it up with a thorough foot massage using eucalyptus and spearmint massage cream.

This was more-or-less in lieu of any basket or card or gift, since I didn't bother with the material stuff for him this year. He pointed out that he would much rather have the pampering, as he can buy candy for himself, but only I can do the "feet-treat".


As a non-religious person, Easter doesn't have any sacred meaning for me, but I'm always prepared to take advantage of a holiday that features candy, brunch, and a visit with family. And we had a very nice time yesterday. I got to spend a little time with both families, which was rather awesome. It ended up being P&E, Spouse & me, my folks, and Scott's youngest brother with his youngest son. The last two could have been problematic, since JJ is a douche and his youngest is a spoiled little shit. But it wasn't. Just a nice buffet, and everyone relaxed and enjoying themselves. And when it was over, everyone split and went their separate ways.

I would have liked to spend a little more time with Mom and Dad, but they had a drive ahead of them, and it isn't good to tax Mom a lot, since she is still recovering from the bronchitis that put her in the hospital for three days last month.

Mom loved her Fossil jewelry roll and the lovely card her son-in-law picked out, everyone liked their little Ghiradelli Easter baskets, and my mother, who is the original Easter Bunny, even made a basket for the kid. (Keep in mind, she's never met him. But my mom NEVER misses a chance to make a kid an Easter basket.)

After brunch, Spouse and I drove out to the cemetery and placed the flower arrangement I made for Papa's grave. There was a veteran at the section of the columbarium where Papa's ashes are, playing a song for his late wife--on the bagpipes. I thought that was very lovely and cool.

We wound up the weekend in a quiet way; came home and put on schlubby clothes, then Mr. B enjoyed the sunny yard, Spouse watched TV, and I cut up my cantaloupe, got my shit together for work on Monday, and messed around on the internet. Dinner was cold ham sandwiches, chips, and ice cream for dessert.
I suppose I should "insert work stuff here". But I'm feeling so shafted right now I'm not sure I want to. LSS: Due to a huge amount of different kinds of upheaval around the office, I am no longer working for the boss I liked. The one who (although a stickler on absences) was reasonable and intelligent and fun and knowledgeable and fair and who apppreciated the hell out of me.

I am now working for the UNreasonable, UNfair, UNdependable, stupid, awful, lazy, blame-laying, credit-hogging drunk. The one for whom I've had the misfortune to work once before, several years ago, so I know firsthand what a horror she is as a boss.

So I'm a little upset.
I did make it all the way through "Magnificent Obsession", but I have to confess that it was kind of hard to follow. It seemed to imply a lot, rather than coming out and saying it. I have a feeling that I was supposed to catch on & draw conclusions based on a cultural sensibility that no longer exists. Today, if a man offers a woman the use of his car while she's in town, she doesn't run off, utterly humiliated, in the night--as if he's publicly shamed and insulted her. I'm sure this made some kind of sense to readers in the twenties, but it mystified me. And I make a habit of reading stuff from the period!

But it did make me want to see the movie again. And guess what TCM's playing this week! The 1935 Irene Dunne--Robert Taylor version. Since I'm a sucker for Douglas Sirk movies, I'd prefer the Jane Wyman-Rock Hudson version, but still, very awesome.

Reading: My next vintage YA series, "The Moving Picture Girls" by "Laura Lee Hope" (yes, the same Stratemeyer Syndicate Pseudonym used for The Bobbsey Twins) Book 1 is "The Moving Picture Girls, or First Appearances in Photo Dramas", Copyright 1914. Also re-reading Tom Tryon's "Harvest Home". While trying to fall asleep on vacation a few weeks ago, my mind wandered past this book and convinced me that I wanted to read it again. Reads a lot cheesier than I remember.

Surfing:

Listening: Elvis Costello, Joe Jackson, Pete Townshend

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com