rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















cookies, cupboards, candles, career, & car
April 12, 2010

A very restful and relaxing weekend. On Friday, we ran some errands around town--I picked up Mad Men season three and a new coffeemaker. Then went to the lodge for rib night--ran into friends and had a nice time. Came home and chatted on the phone for a while to my favorite Auntie, futzed around on FB, and went to bed.

I slept in a bit on Saturday, and awoke to find that Spouse had been to the bakery already and there was a croissant waiting for me. So I brewed up some Kona blend in my new pot and we had a leisurely continental breakfast.

Then we kicked into gear a little bit. Spouse vacuumed, dusted, and cleaned the bathroom, while I did laundry, shook rugs, cleaned the kitchen, and baked a batch of M&M cookies. We managed to kill the whole morning with productive puttering before we finally got showered and dressed.

More errands then. Needed a few things at the drugstore, and had to run to the grocery store as well, since Spouse had decided against the chicken I�d gotten out for dinner. The loveliness of the day made him crave summer food, so we did deluxe burgers on the grill, potato salad and coleslaw, and corn on the cob. I do have to admit that it was awesome. I can't really say that we did anything else too constructive on Saturday--we caught up with watching Justified, and I kept the laundry going, but otherwise it was just peaceful and relaxed.

Sunday morning, we actually skipped breakfast--just coffee, and then he did his unemployment filing and paid bills while I went back into productive putter mode and cleaned out three of the kitchen cupboards. I started with the cupboard over the stove, then took on the cups & glasses cupboard, and ended up completely gutting and re-doing the large corner cupboard where we keep the dishes.

I pulled everything out, chucked a ton of old crap I never use and don't have any attachment to, wiped the shelves down, and FINALLY re-organized my dishes in an intelligent manner, so that I'm no longer reaching past a bottom shelf full of stuff I never use to get to the stuff I DO use on the TOP shelf. (I'd get rid of 95% of the contents, but my mom gave me that damned 10 tons of Pfaltzgraff and it would kill her if I ditched it.)

I even got fired up enough to get out a screwdriver and remove that damned metal cup rack that I've been grazing my knuckles on for 16 years. It isn't like I have any delicate little teacups to hang up--my cups are big clunky mugs, and they live on a mug tree on the counter anyway. (My china teacups are where they belong--in the china cabinet.)

aaaaanyway. After I got done with my mini-frenzy of spring cleaning, We got ourselves cleaned up and presentable, then ran out for a while. Mailed the bills, ran out to the Yankee Candle outlet store and dropped forty bucks on smelly wax in various forms, made a stop at Target for a bag of charcoal and some body wash, and came home again. I brewed up two batches of iced tea (caffienated peach for me, decaf plain for him), defrosted and marinated pork chops for dinner, heated up a couple of hot dogs for lunch, and then spent an hour or so plaing FV on FB, before stretching out on my bed for a nice nap.



Oh yeah--Remember what I said about having to work for the very bad boss?

Well. Walking down the hall the other day, I got the pssst! from Formerboss--he has me duck into a corner with him.

So he could tell me that I have been hand-picked to join his major project team, full time, in the very near future.

SCORE!!!


And oh yeah, the car. Got my tires rotated and my oil changed after work today.





Reading: "The Moving Picture Girls, or First Appearances in Photo Dramas", by Laura Lee Hope (C.1914) "Unnatural Death", By Dorothy L.Sayers.

Surfing: Not feeling very adventurous lately.

Listening: "Follies" OCR, Sister Hazel, "Fortress".

At Random: >click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com