rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















01-20-10 we 70s girls never outgrow our lust for Lip Smackers
January 20, 2010

I had to let Walgreen�s off the hook. Stopped on the way home last night, but I was mega-pissed by the time I got to the register. I went in for Pantene conditioner, a package of Life Savers, and a small box of tampons. They don�t carry my conditioner, they were out of the Life Savers, and they only had the large box of tampons. Three for three? C�mon, people! Normally, such dismal performance would get them a complaint, or at least deprive them of my business for a while. But there was no way I could storm out in disgust without buying anything, once I�d seen the lip balm.

When I spotted the tube of Glaceau �VitaminSchtick�, in my much-beloved XXX flavor, at Walgreen�s, I did a fully audible �SQUEEE!!�. When I found out that it is actually a Bonne Bell product, I believe I nearly swallowed my partial. (I�m such a dork.)

Hey�it�s not every day that life combines two of your all-time favorite things (VitaminWater and Lip Smackers), and sells it to you for $2.29.


Spouse started classes today. I can only keep my fingers crossed and my thoughts positive that he�ll make this work. This whole free education thing has certainly been a wonderful and unexpected answer to the big question �what happens now?� we were asking when we found out his plant was closing. I�ve got to hope that this turns out well�that maybe, at age 51, he�s finally ready to be educated, and done with pushing it away as hard as he can.

Sigh. You marry them, you work hard to bring them up right, and a mere 25 years later, they�re off to college.
I was naughty last night�spent thirty-five bucks on Amazon. I�d only meant to get a couple of items, but when you�re a buck-twenty three away from free shipping, you do silly things and end up spending more than you intended.

Actually, I do silly things for others. I bought Spouse a book of Hunter S. Thompson interviews compiled by Anita Thompson, his widow. I haven�t told him�it�s a surprise.

For myself, I got the DVD that�s been in my cart for months (�To The Manor Born��The Silver Anniversary Special), and a copy of a book I really hadn�t thought I�d find new, but am utterly thrilled to get my hands on.

It�s a 1918 children�s book called : �Little Sisters to the Camp Fire Girls; or, The Blue Birds of Grassybank� (they certainly loved their double titles back then, didn�t they?) by E.A. Watson Hyde, with illustrations by Ella Dolbear Lee.

And here�s why I want it: my grandma had it when she was little. My mom had it handed down to her, and when I learned to read, it was my turn. That copy is still in the family; mom has it around somewhere. But I want a copy of my own, because dang it�I want to read it again! I was quite shocked and altogether pleased to find that I could get a new, paperback copy. I�d assumed that it was out of print and public domain long ago. I�m so excited!

Reading: �Lullaby Town�, by Robert Crais and " Ruth Fielding on the St. Lawrence Or: The Queer Old Man of the Thousand Islands", Copyright 1922 (Ruth Fielding #18). The last, alas, that I have available in this series. I�m starting on the Betty Gordon series next�I know I can lay my hands on at least the first five.

Surfing: the aforementioned beloved book from my childhood

Listening: David Bromberg, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Collective Soul, Blondie.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com