rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















shoppy
January 18, 2010

Spent my �Hanukah Gelt� this weekend�bought myself the only pair of women�s Avia walkers that Kohl�s had in my size. Co-incidentally, it was also the only pair they had that wasn�t on �sale�, so they were sixty bucks, instead of thirty-five. But I�m always happy to find a pair that fit, and that aren�t men�s. For the record�I will wear men�s if I have to. I just find the plainest old size eight they have in white and go with it. But it always feels like a victory to find shoes for MY gender, in MY size.

And I finished with the Christmas gift shopping for Spouse�I�ve been waiting and waiting for him to pick out his book bag already, and he finally got around to it on Friday. It�s a nice rolling backpack from JEEP, so it was a good price and will be fairly sturdy (I hope!). He really seems to like it.

I also continued to make it abundantly clear to Spouse that I�m serious about getting a really good cast iron and enamel dutch oven. I thought I�d hinted the holy heck out of it for Christmas, but he went in a different direction, gift-wise. And it�s not like I expect a genuine LeCreuset�as nice as that would be, they are altogether too much money, even from the outlet store. I�ve pretty much settled on the Lodge 5-quart round in dark red, which is $65.97 at Wally�s (and seems to be made about a zillion percent better than the Paula Deen one they have for ten bucks more.)

I have a suspicion that Spouse thinks my yen for this pot is a phase�but if it is, it�s a hell of a long one, because I�ve wanted this type of cookware since I was a teenager. I�ve just decided that I�ve waited goddamn long enough, you know? Life is freakin� short.

And after fifteen years of trying to coax acceptable results from that damned induction cooktop, which rejects nearly every good pan out there because aluminum and copper aren�t magnetic�well, I just want to be able to brown some meat properly, for pity�s sake. Is that really so much to ask?

Nope. And I�ve even got the savings for it. As a lark, I�ve been putting my all dimes into a glass soda bottle for months, and it�s almost full�there�s gotta be close to seventy dollars or so in there. That baby�s MINE.


Let�s see�what else did I do this weekend? Well,(in no particular order) I took some really interesting photos of the frosty trees on Sunday morning, I installed a Bounce Dryer Bar in my clothes dryer, I got my hair cut and dyed and my brows waxed, I replaced my watch battery, I cleaned out the spice cupboard, did a bunch of laundry, baked cupcakes, played FarmVille, I enjoyed a weekend where I didn�t cook any meals at all and still ate well, cuddled my dog, watched Big Love, and accidentally left the candle in the living room burning all night (twice!) without actually catching the house on fire.

Reading: re-reading a paperback from about10 years ago��Lullaby Town�, an Elvis Cole novel by Robert Crais. And, of course, "Ruth Fielding In The Great Northwest Or, The Indian Girl Star Of The Movies", Copyright 1921 (Ruth Fielding #17)

Surfing:

Listening: Foxboro Hot Tubs, and NPR.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com