rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















stamped my widdle foot
January 26, 2010

So sad to see James Mitchell has died; although he is best known for playing Palmer Courtland, in my mind, he will always be first and foremost a wonderful dancer. We've lost a lithe and graceful presence.


I feel as though my life is contracting again; I must be watchful of that. The "why bothers" and the "too much troubles" are piling up again, and even the things I do to try and enjoy myself are feeling like burdens and obligations.

I did pitch a fit of temper Sunday; an encouraging sign. Since my life seems to swing between depression and dissatisfaction, anger is usually a good thing. Means I'm not too far gone down the depressive spiral.

The subject of my tantrum was twofold--the large white piece of crap in my kitchen (a/k/a the fridge), and Spouse's indifference to the issues of same. The fridge has been a pain in the ass for years; its piss-poor design requires me to get down on my knees, crawl inside, and "change its diaper" on a regular basis.

Yes, I have to remove the crisper drawers, mop out the excess water, and tuck a dry, folded towel into place every Sunday, or else the faulty auto-defrost will puke water all over the kitchen floor.

It also managed to bust loose of its motor mounts before it was 6 months old, so past 8 years or so we�ve had to listen to it rattle, bang, and thump as it cycles on and off loud enough to wake the dead.

You notice, I said that I am the one who has to deal with this shit. Spouse�s approach to the fridge is his typical household maintenance approach�ignore it until there is an emergency, then deal with it. (His entire family has a tendency to manage on a crisis basis. I find it maddening.)

So Sunday morning, I had a meltdown of my own. I was in enough physical pain to say "enough" to the upping and downing, and mopping out, and his opting out, and I let him have it.

We went fridge shopping Sunday afternoon. Not that you have a lot of options in this shit pit town; we looked at the one appliance store, at Best Buy, and at Lowe�s, and only found one fridge that we could even consider possible. Lots of chances to buy another or Whirlpool, or Kenmore-labeled Whirlpool, just exactly like the ill-designed mess I�m dealing with now. Also plenty of Frigidaires out there, but I will NEVER own another one of those, either. And pretty much everything else is scaled for a basketball court-sized, modern McMansion kitchen, and simply wouldn�t fit in my tiny 1950 house.

I found an Amana that has the exact exterior dimensions of the old one, though. I'm not in love with the exterior style, but it is otherwise what I want and need. It�s white, 22.0 cubic feet, fits in my fridge space, has an ice maker, and my hubby negotiated the heck out of it, and got the sales rep to throw in the icemaker, delivery, and disposal for free.

It's on order, paid in full, and will be delivered Saturday.

A judiciously timed tantrum is remarkably effective, sometimes.
By some miracle, we received all of our docs extra-early this year, and were able to drop everything off with the tax lady this weekend. Spouse spoke to her on the phone a couple of times; I think her business has fallen off a bit due to the economy, since it sounds like she isn't as busy this year. At least I assume she isn't--we dropped the papers off Sunday and she called today to let us know she had them done and ready for signatures. A first for us, I believe--the taxes filed before the end of January!

Reading: "Indigo Slam", another Elvis Cole novel by Robert Crais, "Ruth Fielding on the St. Lawrence Or: The Queer Old Man of the Thousand Islands", Copyright 1922 (Ruth Fielding #18). Rapture! Our intrepid heroine was seized by the yellow peril and held in a Chinese opium den! While on the trail of smugglers, yet! And started the Betty Gordon series, with "Betty Gordon at Bramble Farm, or The Mystery of a Nobody" and "Betty Gordon In Washington, Or Strange Adventures In A Great City", (copyright 1920)all by "Alice B. Emerson".

Surfing:

Listening: Thoroughgood, Franz Ferdinand, Tears For Fears

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com