rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I'm kind of getting used to feeling alienated, actually
January 14, 2010

WHAT a stench-fest work was today. Some days it's one offense or another, and some days, it's all the nastiness in creation ganging up together. Harsh and musky "perfumes" that smell like a two-dollar whore, those damned scented sanitizing gels that stink like cheap wine coolers, onions (both raw and fried) on top of the usual low-grade dog food from the cafeteria...cripes, I have a headache from it. Why is it such a weird thing to want�an office that doesn't reek of a hundred vile odors competing with each other? But if you say something, they look at you like you have two heads.


Can't decide what I need more�a new watch or a new pair of sneakers. Problem is, I really need both. But with corners having to be cut, I suppose I'll have to choose one or the other, even with a $50 gift card to Kohls.

That, incidentally, is what I got from the sister-in-law who got my name in the Christmas drawing. And if I needed further proof that my brother & his family couldn�t give a rat's ass about me, consider this: I have repeatedly mentioned that I almost never shop at Kohl's. Don't like their stuff, their clothes don't fit me, and their "sale" pricing is an affront to my intelligence. The only things I ever buy there are the occasional pair of sneakers or a Nine & Co. purse...and those purchases are only because somebody gave me a friggin'gift card.

But that's not even the kicker�

The thing says "Happy Hanukah" on it. With a big old Star of David.

They are Methodists...and I�m agnostic-bordering-on-atheistic.

Yeah, I was gobsmacked by that one. Spouse's only comment was "Well, that DOES explain why they never send you a Christmas card..."

I don't know�maybe, in their small-town, small-minded thinking, being agnostic is the same thing as being Jewish?

Guess I can't bitch, though--with their politics, I'm lucky I didn't get an autographed copy of "Going Rogue".

(Spouse could afford to be sarcastic--HIS name got drawn by the SIL that actually cares, and he got exactly what he wanted.)

Reading:"Ruth Fielding In The Great Northwest Or, The Indian Girl Star Of The Movies", Copyright 1921 (Ruth Fielding #17). Got to start scoping out the Betty Gordon books to see what's available...I really wish I could find more from the Girl Scouts or Campfire Girls series; but there isn't much online.

Surfing:

Listening: The Police, Beck, The Grateful Dead

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com