rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the Christmas list
December 07, 2009

Shopping off to a good start, we can scratch 5 more people off the list.

Cards have gone out; I sat down and did them all in one marathon session on Friday night, got the overseas cards and Aunty's CDs mailed out on Saturday, and stamped & mailed the rest yesterday.

Deep-cleaned and decorated the living room on Saturday, including putting up the tree and cleaning the glass in the storm door so you can actually see the wreath. Although I remembered something this morning--the tree wasn't quite done. I forgot the bubble lights! Done now, though.

I baked a very unsatisfactory batch of sugar cookies yesterday; could not get the dough sufficiently stiff to hold the shapes. They went all wonky and my "gingerbread man" shapes came out looking like Eric Cartman. Spouse like the taste, though. I made half with red & green sugar sprinkles and half iced, with jimmies or nonpareils sprinkled on. I was going to make Spritz as well, but I had no unsalted butter on hand, so that was out.

Carols attended to, cards mailed, cookies baked...I'm done. Christmas is over.


Really, that list doesn't begin to do justice to how busy I was all the way through my three-day weekend. I barely stopped all weekend long, and it just flew by like a blur. But I got over the stage-one holiday hump.

Now all I have to contend with is snowstorms coming one after the other all week long, the hell of work, figuring out what to get Spouse for a gift, and getting shut of him long enough to actually buy him something.

Reading: "Ruth Fielding At Silver Ranch, or Schoolgirls Among the Cowboys" By "Alice B. Emerson", Copyright 1915 (Ruth Fielding #5) and "Unexpected Death", by Dell Shannon

Surfing: Overheard at the Office

Listening: Christmas music

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com