rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















good news
December 03, 2009

I actually had an entire post written yesterday, but it was so full of bitter black bile and vitriol that I decided not to post it. I was disgusted with myself. So I gave myself a seasonal attitude adjustment, erased, and am beginning again.

But I will just say this�
Apparently Monday doesn�t have to be the worst indoor air-pollution day. Tuesday was bad enough to give me wheezing, sneezing, headache, & nosebleed. Today was only slightly better�no nosebleed.
Wednesday was a furiously busy day of other people�s mouths writing checks that MY ass had to cash. VP�s go visiting clients, and all hell breaks loose. I got an email at about 10:00 am, and four hours later I had designed, documented, converted, coded, implemented, tested, further documented, and deployed a program change.

A bit of perspective�something like that, IF prioritized as number one and extra-ordinarily expedited? Usually takes three weeks.

And that wasn�t even the only emergency situation I handled yesterday! (But today, which is usually crazy-hectic, was much more sensible than usual�so I guess things even out.)

In the Christmas news:
I have baked no cookies yet. But I spent three hours last night futzing around with carols so I can send them to my auntie in Phoenix. She was having one of her gossips with Spouse yesterday, and dropped a lead-pipe hint on him about not having any Christmas music, so he fully expected me to spend my evening remedying the situation (see other people�s mouths, above). And I, being the total sucker, did just that. I�m sending her about two and a half hours worth, complete with playlists and a custom coversheet. I truly do love doing that kind of crap, and I love my auntie, so I didn�t mind too much.

But can I just point out that he�s the one with all the time weighing heavy on his hands (up till now, that is. more below.)

And since I finally found out when my family is having Christmas, I made our hotel reservation for the 26th last night. Again, since I�m the one with the credit card, I get stuck with the booking. (Non-monetary) credit where it�s due, though. He did do all the research and pricing.

I haven�t gotten any decorating done�aside from the wreath on the front door, anyway. But I�m taking tomorrow as a vacation day and intend to get the tree done, if nothing else. I probably wouldn�t even bother, except I think it looks weird to have the outside done, but no tree in the living room. I�m just going to put my little three-footer on top of one of the stereo speakers; I don�t really have room for anything bigger.

I�ve barely gotten started on the card project, although I put together my labels template, and completed my questionnaire. But�that�s a priority for this weekend, along with getting some of the shopping out of the way. We�ve been shooting a few ideas around, and can at least get started.


But right now, that all takes a backseat to the great! news we got today--Spouse is 100% funded for his schooling, and as of today, he's a full-fledged, student-ID carrying college student! He had a meeting with the TRA lady, got his info, and went straight to his registration. Classes don't start until the middle of January, but he's all enrolled and ready to go. Squeeee!
Abrupt change of subject:
Can someone please tell me what it is about Wisconsin politicians and whacked out conspriracy theories? If it isn't COMMUNISTS UNDER THE BED, it's FASCIST SCIENTISTS ARE PERPETRATING THE GLOBAL WARMING HOAX. Thanks, Sensenbrenner, for doing your part to convince me that I live in a state full of perpetually deluded fools.

Reading: �Ruth Fielding At Silver Ranch, or Schoolgirls Among the Cowboys� By "Alice B. Emerson", Copyright 1915 (Ruth Fielding #5)

Surfing: Just booking hotels and poking around for a good price on a 1TB external hard drive.

Listening: Weezer, UB40, My Morning Jacket, Gin Blossoms, Janis Joplin, Peter Gabriel, and a boatload of Christmas stuff.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com