rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Halloween ain�t what it used to be
November 02, 2009

NOTICE:
No one uses them, so unless I hear back from anyone out there, I will be doing away with the comments in mid-November. If no one responds, I may also assume I have no readers and take the diary private.



The weekend was kind of blah�not that that is a bad thing; I love a blah weekend. We took Niece to lunch & did the grocery shopping on Friday, ran to Milwaukee to pick up Spouse�s suit on Saturday morning, then came home and fiddled around on Saturday afternoon. I made a pie, he vacuumed, we took turns handing out the Halloween candy, and then we vegged out and had grilled cheese and tomato soup for supper, changed the clocks, and went to bed.

Trick-or-treat was cold, grey, and windy, business was way down from previous years, and I ended up letting my last group of teens grab double handfuls because it was 5 minutes till the end and I still had about half a bowl left. Mostly I just sat out there drinking Constant Comment and catching up on my blog reading on the netbook. Honestly�we bought less candy than we have in the last 15 years, we always give out two pieces, I ended up forcing it on hapless teenagers, and I STILL had about 20 pieces left.

I did find out that my new winter coat is comfy and warm, though. After my disappointment in last year�s coat purchase, I�m glad that I found one I can actually wear without feeling tortured.

Sunday was close to perfect�I didn�t even get dressed properly. I made the coffee, Spouse made sausage and pancakes for breakfast, and I got the six loads of laundry started while he washed the dishes. Once he was out the kitchen, I swept and scrubbed the floor, then zoned out in the easy chair and fiddled around playing computer games (with frequent breaks to advance the laundry process) till mid-afternoon. At that point, I decided to dye my hair, take a shower, and throw on some sweats before putting the pot-roast together and bunging it into the oven for dinner.

Oh, and somewhere in that weekend summary, I made a simple strung necklace out of some vintage pink beads I had. I would have done earrings to match, but I�ve misplaced the jewelry supplies (VERY expensive sterling silver ornamental headpins and post & drop earring findings) I bought in Phoenix. Dammit!

Finished up the night with Mad Men�s penultimate of season 3, and shuffled off to bed. It was the Kennedy assassination, so not too many laughs, but good to see Mona, Joan, Pete, Duck, and Peggy. Roger was in great form, and my one chuckle came when Carla walked in, plopped her butt next to Betty on the couch, and lit up a cigarette while they watched the assassination coverage. Evidently November 22, 1963 was the day she gave up pretending to be inferior to her boss. Only one more ep! Then back to looking for a Sunday night show I can deal with.

So�let�s see. Any other bits of news from the weekend?

Oh yeah�my husband and my sister-in-law are running off to Las Vegas together later this month.

You heard me.

Spouse and E are going to LV for a couple of days, right before Thanksgiving. Spouse wants to go, he doesn�t want to go alone, and the only person without a life at the moment who has the time to go with him is the other unemployed member of the group�E. And she�s never been there. So they are going together.

Well, I�m the one who suggested it. Does that answer your question? Seriously�P and I are pretty secure with the steadiness of our marriages. So we�re cool with it. And thrilled at the prospect of having them occupied, engaged, and ultimately, out of our hair for a few days.

Plus, after a few days in close quarters with my sister-in-law I fully expect my Spouse to come home with a fresh appreciation of his low-maintenance wife. �Cause she? Is a real handful.

Reading: �Murder in False-Face� by Richard Lockridge.

Surfing:

Listening: NPR

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com