rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I post on Mondays, because I only live on weekends
October 26, 2009

Am ready for the cool weather now; I managed to find a long-sleeved, affordable, comfortable, knit top style at Wally�s.

So far, I�ve bought five. Berry, teal, black, red, and purple. Yeah, there goes whyme63 with her �uniforms� again. Being an InTJ and an SD, it�s much the best way to handle wardrobe. Find what works, and buy in bulk.


After I got off work Friday, we did the banking and a few other errands, then Spouse and I stopped at the new Mongolian BBQ restaurant for lunch. Phenomenal! A really outstanding choice of very fresh ingredients, oils, sauces, and condiments, excellent prices and service, a comfortable stations layout, and an attractive space. It definitely gets the thumbs up from us both. We�ve already recommended it to Nephew, and he�s already taken his girlfriend there! Two more enthusiastic diners. An added advantage for him is the discount for college students. I�m hoping the place takes off�but not too much. Most places in Kenosha are either so popular they�re always too mobbed to get into, or languish and die from the xenophobia and tight-fistedness Kenoshans are famous for. I�m hoping this place will strike a balance and do �just well enough�.

After a tremendously satisfying lunch, we finished our shopping and headed home. I was really ready to put my feet up and chill, and had just started puttering with some photo editing and printing on my pc when the phone rang. It was Nephew. His Eagle Scout ceremony, planned for Saturday night at the Scout camp, was having a change of venue due to the heavy rains. It was to be at his house. And since the locale had changed, so had the dinner plans�and�Could you please make two 9x13 pans of lasagna? Those kids�and their mom�are fully aware that Spouse and I can�t say no. So guess what I was doing Friday night?

I had to do it Friday night, because Spouse and I had plans for Saturday. He wanted to go to Milwaukee to get a couple of pairs of dress pants and have them tailored to his�unique�build. Some place way on down in the bad part of town. A place that specializes in big and tall�and distinct.

Okay. He went to the ghetto. Satisfied?

Once he was there, though, he seemed to be drawn to the suits. He asked me if I thought he should just get a suit instead. After I came to, I told him to go for it.

If I could just shake off the notion that the world is ending because Spouse, alone and unprompted, bought a suit, I�d be really happy. He got a very conservative three-piece, medium-weight gabardine, in black. And even picked out a nice maroon dress shirt, and a tie and pocket square. I figure this will be good for any weddings and funerals that pop up in the next few years, and, as I told him at the store, if you pick out a comfortable one, you can wear it forever. (Cold? Maybe. But I can�t assume I�ll ever get him to buy another.)
So�that didn�t take long. We made a quick stop at Wally�s to pick up razors, then went back home. I had other stuff to get done, two lasagnas to bake off, and a Scout ceremony to get ready for. Not to mention caring for a crotchety, elderly Chihuahua who has never liked me�more on that later.

Ceremony was cool, Nephew awarded the Mentor pin to his well-deservingstep-dad. He makes us all so proud. Well, most of us. His real dad is such a dick*. But the rest of us managed not to act like hipster douchebags and just be flat out proud of him. Food was great, especially the lasagna. We really only needed 1 pan, but Nephew was more than happy to take the other back to school with him.

We managed to have fun, though, and it was kind of cool to see that Nephew had made it into Boy�s Life magazine�s Scout�s In Action feature this month. I made an effort to be cordial to everyone, even Alex�s dad and step-mom, in spite of the dickishness. We left about 8:30, and headed back to town so I could stop in and take care of W&T�s dog.

There�s a fun job. Little ankle-biter was horrid. But for friendship�s sake, and because I care about all dogs, not just the good ones, I did it. Every visit was the same: he wouldn�t listen, piddled on the rug or on me, growled, snapped, ran away from me, and then got all cuddly when I was about to crate him back up and leave.

They left at 10:00 am on Friday, so I visited twice. Saturday, four times. And yesterday, they told me to only come in the morning, because they would be home shortly after noon.

But when they never called to say they were home, Spouse and I got worried. Heaven knows they lack social graces, so I thought they might have just not thought to call. So I called them�no answer. By now, it�s almost 6pm, the dog has been cooped up for 12 hours or so, and no sign or signal when they are actually going to get home. I threw on my shoes and ran over there�no sign of anyone, so I let myself in and took care of the dog one more time, left them a note (a verbal stink-eye, really) pinned to the door, and went home.

Apparently they finally rolled in around eight�that�s when they called. Spouse and I were a little upset about that. If your plans change, no big deal. But let me know, for cryin� out loud. Don�t just make the poor little dog suffer because you can�t manage your time.





*Jesus, J F is a jerk. It�s not enough that he has to be right, everyone else has to be wrong. Examples from Saturday: Scouting is akin to Nazism, therefore his oldest son�s achievement wasn�t all that big of a deal. A & J had the wrong method of securing their pool cover. Niece had her truck at the wrong mechanic. And Spouse bought the wrong suit from the wrong place and paid the wrong price. I mean�is there any way he could do more to channel the evil mother in law? I almost started calling him by his mother�s name. And his wife wonders why we never want to visit.
We took it a bit quieter yesterday; we ran over to Lowe�s to get new blower-vac for the leaves, since they had one on sale that Spouse liked. While we were there, I channeled my inner Girl Scout, and did a good deed. We were parked next to a gorgeous little Mazda Miata MX-5, and I was checking it out when I noticed that the owner had left the keys in the trunk lock. I didn�t think it would be much fun for the guy if someone stole it, so I ran the keys in and left them at the service desk with a description of the car. After we got home, I did laundry, the aforementioned dog visits, played computer games, baked a cake, and tried to relax. Spouse took his new tool outback and vacuumed & mulched his little heart out, then came in and made grilled steak, twice-baked potatoes, and green beans for dinner. And washed the dishes.

After he went to bed, I watched Mad Men. Almost the end of the season, and this episode was kind of disappointing�except when it wasn�t. It had some awesome moments. Joan clocking Dr. Rapist with the vase full of flowers was a particular delight. Even better was Dr. Rapist joining the army so he could be a surgeon�on the cusp of the Vietnam War. And it was cool to watch Betty act all grown up for a change, when she confronted Don with the knowledge of his past. But when there is so little time left, don�t waste big swathes of it introducing a new character. I don�t give a rat�s behind Don�s latest one on the side, or about Roger�s �one that got away 25 years ago�. I want an episode crammed to the gills with Peggy, Pete, Hildy, Ken, Paul, Lois, Harry, and hell, even Pryce! (Even so, Slattery was awfully hot in this one. Damn, he�s something)

I don�t know�this whole season�with the exception of �Guy Walks Into an Ad Agency��has felt so sharky. I hope they haven�t peaked.
This has exhausted me. Lousy, sleepless night. I managed to doze here and there in the night, but was plagued with work-related nightmares�some featuring people I haven�t even worked with in 15 years! I�ve been up since two a.m., when I woke up sick from my customary stressed-out dread of going to work. Spouse is making BBQ ribs in the slow-cooker, but I think I�m going to pick at them a bit and go to bed. He�s still not including any fish or poultry in the menus, and the very thought of red meat is starting to make me sick.

Reading:�Leave it to Psmith� , P.G. Wodehouse Surfing: .

Listening: NPR

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com