rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















me time
October 20, 2009

It was a nice weekend�large dollops of blessed solitude, mixed with getting out and seeing friends. Spouse�s pooch-sitting came it the nick of time; I was about ready to tear my hair out. But this was fairly grand, in an ultra-low-key sort of way.

I puttered about in my shlubby sweats, did some beading, geeked out on the netbook and the web, read, made (and ate) tuna casserole and tapioca pudding, caught up on my DVR-age, painted my nails (OPI "Tijuana Dance?"), went to dinner and a movie with W&T (Red Robin and Zombieland)�

And got sick. Yeah, my body did that thing where it waits till I have nothing pressing going on, and can take some time for myself�then tortures me with nausea, diarrhea, and pervasive body aches.

Good times. Good times.


So I took yesterday off work and stayed home nursing my misery. My mom called about 7:30, (72 minutes, by the way) wanting to know if I�d heard anything more on my cousin�s husband. Seems he woke up on Friday unable to walk or feel his legs! Turned out to be a herniated disc, with probable necessity for surgery. Which is horrible news all around, since
A)Hello�can�t walk and in excruciating pain!
B)His wife�s a chiropractor�lots of friction there if he needs back surgery.
C)Their whole family depends on him to carry a load, since there are so few able-bodied souls in the family to begin with.
Anyway, I think Mom�s ostensible reason for calling was just an excuse; I�m sure she is concerned about Jase, but she really wanted to drop it on me that she�s now having dizzy spells�sometimes with fainting! I can�t help but wonder�if she would stop pushing herself so far before using her oxygen, would that help the situation any?

One thing�s for sure�stuff like that makes you glad to just have the trots.

And in other health news, I got some results today that were fairly good. Blood pressure, cholesterol, HDL, and weight were all fairly good. Not perfect, but not hideous either.
Spouse is home tonight; he was down earlier today for a meeting on his TRA/TAA benefits, but had to go back up to Milwaukee afterwards. Good news for benefits, though...education money, extended unemployment, and because he's a veteran, extra help with the enrollment process. He wants to add welding to his skill set, and I'm all for it.

Especially if he could get into a night course.

Reading:�The Amazing Mrs. Pollifax� , by Dorothy Gilman.

Surfing:

Listening: Tom Petty, Santana, Death Cab for Cutie

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com