rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















midweek mayhem
September 30, 2009

So...I punked last night. Didn't finish the project. Instead, I watched the second half of the movie I'd started on Monday night--Bette Davis and Claude Rains in "Mr. Skeffington". Vain and shallow beauty marries for money, neglects her loving and long-suffering husband and child, then suffers the loss of the only thing that means anything to her.

I love those old Warner Brothers movies. And I adore Claude Rains in sympathetic roles. This one is probably in my top five, but it isn't available very often. TCM On Demand had it, and I was compelled to watch.

One of my favorite scenes: psycho-analyst Dr. Byles (George Coulouris) abruptly walks away from Fanny (Bette Davis), throws open the window, and breathes deeply. When Fanny asks him why he did this, he tells her that he finds her perfume too heavy. Later in the same scene, he tells her �You're over dressed, you're over made-up, and you're most certainly over perfumed.� My kind of guy!

Something to note--If you introduce a character named "Job" in the first act, there will be a remark about his patience before the end of the picture.


Kind of glad I just relaxed last night...today was the kind of �furious ball of nothing�, crazy-making day that makes me want to curl up in a ball and die. Any day where I have three meetings (including taking and transcribing endless pages of notes), and two training sessions (where I�M the trainer!), and I add insult to injury by coming home and embroidering linens for an hour and a half?

Is damn near enough to get me certified for committal.

Oh, well. one-point-five days till vacation, right?

Reading: Don't know what's next--maybe I'll get back to my antique child & YA collection. I read a couple of Trixie Beldens last week (#2, �The Red Trailer Mystery� and #3, �The Gatehouse Mystery�), and it kind of put me in the mood. Time to see what's on the hard drive...

Surfing: Surf-free evening was mandated. I simply HAD to finish my embroidery.

Listening: 10,000 Maniacs, Green Day, Paul Simon

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com