rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















better
September 29, 2009

The rice and vegetables helped a lot. It felt so nice to wake up this morning without wanting to vomit flames.


In fact, I�m actually feeling fairly chipper today. Couldn�t have anything to do with the fact that my current #1 work-related thorn-in-the-side has been out for two days, could it? The without the card-carrying member of the bim-boisie around, it�s like my vacation started early!

If I have any bone to pick with Formerboss, who I really do like and get along with very well�it would be his staffing formula of �two parts work-horse to one part show pony�. It has been his way, for the eight years I�ve known him, to have any team for which he is responsible contain enough people to get the job done, and half-again as many to look cute and accomplish nothing. �The Thorn� is one of the latter. Blonde, bubbly, tiny, toothy, adorable, and absolutely worthless.
Well, the end is in sight for the stitchery project. I have about one more session to go, then I can wash, iron, and box up. I was planning to finish yesterday, but between feeling like shit, and forcing myself to go shoe shopping after work, I was just too knackered to pick it up last night. I�ll be glad to have it done; I have a bead project I want to work on next.

The shoe shopping was a fruitless effort, incidentally. I hit three stores and didn�t find anything remotely suitable to go with either dress. There doesn�t seem to be anything between casual and/or flat, and�hooker. I�m still going to try Penney�s and Kohl�s, but I may just end up wearing my old black pumps again. And if it is the slightest bit nice, weather-wise, I�ll wear the sandals and damn the etiquette.
Sing it! I don�t know this columnist, couldn�t possibly care less about his politics, and totally agree with his key point here. One of the biggest of my (many) complaints about the president is this: he doesn�t know how to govern, he only knows how to campaign. So that�s all he does. It�s nice to realize someone else knows the emperor is naked.
Speaking of beading, my aunt in Phoenix has already decreed that I shall be rendering assistance in her latest hobby�yes, she�s beading now. Fine with me, if it means I get to run out to Scottsdale Bead Supply. It totally looks like my kind of place.

We didn�t hear much from her last week, but she and Spouse talked on Friday and she related her eventful week. Grandson with swine flu, sister visiting from San Diego (After buying SPAM especially for Spouse, Auntie totally got busted by her sister for having it in the house. Hee.) I feel like I�m descending on them at a bad time. But the are so amped up over our visit that they would freak if I suggested such a thing.
Anyone who is tempted to feel sorry for Roman Polanski's latest trouble should read this piece. There are some things in this world that are, and should remain, unforgivable.

Reading: "Out to Canaan", by Jan Karon

Surfing: Cleaning out my follow list on Twitter. If you can�t be bothered to tweet for months on end, then I�m not really �following� you, am I?

Listening: The Traveling Wilburys, Jerry Lee Lewis, Pete Townshend

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com