rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















his cooking is killing me
September 28th, 2009

Spouse is not a horrible cook. He�s rather good at the items in his limited repertoire and he is slowly but steadily improving.

But.

Heavy. Greasy. Rich. Processed meats. Vegetables�when he remembers to include them in a meal at all�limited to green beans, carrots, corn, or peas onion or celery if he�s making a stew or something.

And good grief�I LOVE red meat, but not every fucking day! When I was feeding myself, I could go 3 or 4 days without even thinking about meat. I simply do not have the digestion for coping with it daily.

I told him straight out that I can�t eat like that. I can�t eat heavy meals every day, I need to have chicken in my diet, and frankly, I am just not hungry every day at 6:00 pm like clockwork. He pretended to listen, and then did his own thing anyway. He�s making his damned �chop suey� tonight.

Fine. Great. Whatever. I, however, am making myself a bowl of steamed rice and oriental vegetables. I just cannot live with his brand of indigestion any more.


There--rant over. Well, that rant, anyway.
Other news items:
--P&E�s 13-year-old Akita passed away over the weekend. They are torn up about it, as are we. She was such a sweet girl.
--The �best friend� issues continue, with the gap ever-widening. I doubt I will bother to try and continue the relationship after this month. Our values and tastes have simply changed too much. She�s too caught up in her current lifestyle choice* and the only way for me to be included in her life is to be willing to participate in that. I strive to be a great friend who can handle anything you throw at me, but even I have my limits.
--My cousin�s kid (the one I�m going to visit next week) had the H1N1 SWINE Flu (Sorry, but the state of Wisconsin can go to hell) last week, with a 104 fever.

--Spouse may have a chance at a job. It sounds promising, anyway. Great balls of fire, I hope he gets it. Local, pay & responsibilities in line with the old job, and�wait for it�second shift. If you can cross it, I�ve got it crossed.
--Trader Joe�s frozen chocolate croissants are insanely delicious

*This is not orientation-related. Firstly, orientation isn�t a choice. Secondly, she�s been out to me for over 15 years, and I was the honor attendant at her commitment ceremony. So. An entirely other thing.

Reading: "Out to Canaan", by Jan Karon

Surfing: Troy McClure Film or Actual Terrible Movie? I got a 73.

Listening: Cage the Elephant, Van Morrison, My Morning Jacket.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com