rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















midweek mish-mash
September 02, 2009

Since the weather is so nice I don�t want to stay inside at noon, I�ve been giving my disgraceful auto some lunchtime attention. Operation car cleanup has thus far included clearing out all the trash, disconnecting and removing the useless XM radio unit that was cluttering up the dash, and Windexing the insides of all the windows. Since the Rocket suffers a horrible design flaw, I can�t take it to a automated high-pressure wash without blowing out the taillights. One of these days, I�d like to get it over to the local hand-wash & detailer for a good wash and vacuum.

Spouse replaced all four support bolts on the swing yesterday; Nephew should once more be able to flop into it without mishap. It�s five years old, and given good service, but starting to wear out. The canopy is history, I had to replace the cushions this year, and then the bolt issue. I can�t really afford to replace it, but I�m afraid it won�t survive another Wisconsin winter.

Spouse made BLTs for dinner last night. Damn, I can�t resist a homemade BLT. Especially with huge, fresh, red-ripe tomatoes from the farmer�s market. Tomatoes so big that one slice completely blankets the toast. Mmmmm�





Where was I?
Oh, yeah. Garden goodies. The season is in full swing, and every day someone brings a bag of something ripe and tempting to work for anyone who wants it. I love that.


Haven�t had much to say about work lately�there hasn�t been much to say. I mean, I still hate it and all, but recently it�s been more dreary that crazy-making. Just loads of tedious data analysis and boring write-ups. But here�s a tidbit I�ll call �Overheard in MY Office��

Older, motherly elevator rider: You shouldn�t stick your arm in there when the doors are closing�it�ll get cut off someday.
Young and dippy elevator rider: Oh, gross! I LIKE my arms!
Third elevator rider: They�re doing wonderful things with hooks these days�

How do you engage in and concentrate on fighting an illness when two of the major symptoms of the illness are the inability to engage and lack of concentration? I�m trying to do the cognitive behavioral therapy thing, but it�s a tough slog when you feel so paralyzed and unable to get started.

I�m thinking I need to start invoking the �15-minute rule��forcing myself to spend 15 minutes at a task I don�t want to do, with the hope that momentum will build once I get started. If I can manage to enforce this with myself, it can be a great mood lifter, since I frequently do get the momentum going and continue well past the 15 minutes. And if I only do the 15�well I�ve still spent some time and made some progress at whatever task is involved, which is helpful in keeping the rolling snowball of guilt from picking up speed.

Reading: "Colour Scheme", by Ngaio Marsh.

Surfing: CCI.

Listening: Joe Jackson, Look Sharp! An all-time favorite. Still sounds fresh, and there isn�t a weak track in the bunch.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com