rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















maybe it�s me, but I don�t thinks so
August 19, 2009

I�ve been very much in a mood the last couple of days. Not sure if it is me being set upon by more/bigger frustrations, or if my mood is blowing normal-sized frustrations out of proportion. Or both, of course.

Seems like I�m being annoyed by friends and foes alike, though:
--After sending my �best friend� numerous emails and tweeting her in the last week regarding a question I really wanted her to answer, I got a twitter direct message yesterday asking if I was okay, or on vacation, or what, because she hadn�t heard from me in several days. Well, in order for people to communicate, there has to be someone tuned in on the other end, doesn�t there? If you aren�t going to read your emails, check your feed, or answer your phone, you�re going to be wondering what people are up to, I guess. You can�t complain about being out of the loop when you so steadfastly refuse to enter the loop.

--I have this co-worker�let�s call her DDB (short for �Deaf, Dumb and Bitch�). She�s extremely hard of hearing, and because of this, she misses about 30-40 percent of what you are saying to her. It jumps to 50-75 percent in conversations that are not directed at her. She is also, nosy, arrogant, spoiled, self-centered, pig-headed, closed-minded, and dumb as a sack of doorknobs. Oh, and her deafness leads her to bray loudly, instead of speaking normally. This, of course, ups the obnoxious quotient by a factor of approximately 10, 000, 000.

There�s the background on this toxic wonder. Here�s the particular sitch that has me steaming at the moment. Yesterday, she did her usual eavesdropping on a conversation between me and another co-worker�missing 75% of the discussion, of course. She then proceeded to process what she thought she had heard, and jumped to the conclusion that it was concerning an issue that would fall under her area. (It wasn�t.) By the time she�d set her wrong idea firmly into the concrete between her ears, several minutes had elapsed and I was at my desk, on a phone call with one of my project clients. She came over, shouted at me, and poked me in the shoulder with her bony claw.

Yes. While I was on the phone with a client. And, incidentally, right in front of my boss, who sits nearby. And all of this just leads me to the one question I can�t help but ask--
�What the FUCK is wrong with some people?!�

--Speaking of my boss, I get along with her very well�to the point where she actually nominated me as divisional employee of the month. (I didn�t get it, but still.) And even she gave me a tension headache yesterday. The general rule is that you get six unplanned absences a year, and then, if you take a seventh, they give you a talking to about it, and it starts affecting your review and such.

So why did she feel the need to take me aside and speak to me about it yesterday, when I�ve only had five? That really burned my biscuits, dammit.

Actually, I think I�m just pissed to find this out about her. I�ve been lucky in the last decade or so to have bosses who give you leeway on the bean-counter shit when you are otherwise kickass in your job. It seems this new one is perfectly happy to let you know you are kickass, but keeps the bean counting entirely separate. And thus, one more of the things that kept this job endurable flies south.


In lighter news, I switched out my nail polish last night. Traded the mauvey-purple "Rebel With A Cause" (salon's brand) for the more rosy "Mauve-ing to Manitoba" (my O.P.I.). Gawwwwjuss.

And it looks like I'm in for the long haul with my mehendi--I figured as much when it came up so beautifully dark. But I'd like to be done with it now, and that ain't happenin'. I've heard that ripe banana skin can help get it off--maybe I'll try that. We have a couple of old bananas laying around the kitchen.

Reading: "Killer Dolphin", by Ngaio Marsh.

Surfing: This internet of ours is really starting to bore me.

Listening: Eagles, Mellencamp, Mink DeVille

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com