rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the barometer went down, and so did I
August 20, 2009

I kinda zonked yesterday. Came home, changed into my comfies, met The B�s needs, and was stretched out on the couch by 5:20 or so. Read for a few minutes, but then the next thing I knew I was waking up to a ringing phone. At seven o�clock.

Oh, well. Guess I needed it.


Once awake, I had a sandwich, watched a couple of Mad Men eps with commentary (still working my way through all 26 commentary tracks), spent a little time on the internet, set up the coffee for the morning, and went to bed.

Is it the days drawing in, the rather crappy weather, or (the usual, probable) depression? What is making me feel so damned tired and uninterested? What is reducing me to this minimal existence? I feel rooted in place�overwhelmed by inertia.

I find myself consciously shutting down my thoughts, and trying to make it through on auto-pilot. And I know why. Because the mere contemplation of things that need to be done is so exhausting that there isn�t any energy left to do the actual work. So I �put my head down and push�, saving my limited energy for the work at hand, and limiting my thinking as much as possible.

Well, to illustrate what I meant about limited energy�I fell asleep at the keyboard just now.
On the lighter side--
Here�s a headscratcher for today: Now many of these guys do you figure were named after Dennis the Menace on purpose?.

Reading: "Killer Dolphin", by Ngaio Marsh. Nearly nailed the Ngaios for this summer.

Surfing: film review. Spouse wants to see this over the weekend (meh). I really don�t like Tarantino, and this critic has picked up on why. But he also wants to see �The Goods��and I freaking HATE Piven.

Listening: Steely Dan, �Showbiz Kids�

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com