rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















post-weekend fatigue
August 17, 2009

Had a fantastic time at the mehendi, the sangeet, and the wedding(s), but sooo much running around all over northern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin left us both utterly worn to nubbins. Everything was exquisite. With D�s style and taste behind it, how could it be otherwise?

And I didn�t look too darn shabby, either. My new dresses and new sandals fit very nicely, and I managed to cope with the trauma of going bare-legged in a dress for the first time since I graduated from anklets and Mary Janes. I�ve pretty much given the dresses a miss in the last decade, excepting for the honor attendant�s get-up back in 2002. This pantyhose-free society is a strange new world for me.

And in addition to the hair, nails, clothes, etc.--I put on makeup. Quelle shock, no?


After running my fanny off all week, dealing with the inevitable IBS backlash flare-up on Thursday (all the while coping with my period), and then attending all the wedding events on Friday and Saturday�I was a basket-case on Sunday. Thankfully, Spouse went over to his boss�s house in the afternoon, so I was able to relax a little.

But despite being so worn out that I actually had the damned shakes, I managed to get the laundry done. Well, it wasn�t like I had a choice. It had to be done, and I managed to fight my way through four loads.

In between episodes from season two of Mad Men, that is. I was trying to get through all of them before the premiere last night, but didn�t quite make it. I did manage to stay awake and watch season three get started. I�m not really sure if I like what�s going on this year. But it�s hard to tell what IS going on this year. At least so far, anyway. Even with limited commercial interruptions, they managed to leave me wanting a hell of a lot more.

Except we did confirm the sitch with our poor, sweet Sal. Not that we didn�t already know, but Bryan Batt managed to break my heart just the same. His fear was so palpable�I just wanted to tell him that if anyone has to know your secret, you really want it to be Don. He won�t just put it in the vault�that man IS the vault.
I had to cancel chiro today, so naturally my hip is freaking killing me. But I had to pick up the B from the kennel. We decided to ship him to the country for the weekend, given all the hours we would be gone. I wish they had Sunday pick-up, but since they don�t, I had to go get him after work today. Which means I had to let them take advantage of me twice�once for the extra day, and once for a bath at kennel prices (another $22). But I couldn�t let him suffer in his crate for hours on end, and I couldn�t send him anywhere that might not take care of him, so Lee has me over a barrel, I guess.

While I�m on the subject, I think I�ll go over and get a canoodle out of that snuggle-beast. He�d droopy as hell, and sleepy cuddles are always the best.

Reading: "Death of a Fool", by Ngaio Marsh.

Surfing: Mad Men Forums on TWop.

Listening: The Cure, Weezer, Red Hot Chili Peppers

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com