rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















yesterday�s snow
March 30, 2009

Really more of a slush storm than a snow storm. It was so wet and heavy, and began melting and settling so quickly, that it's hard to even judge how much we got. Maybe 3 or four inches, I guess


I felt a bit at sea last night, TV-wise. Doesn�t seem right to not have an episode of �Big Love� to watch. I�m 2 or 3 episodes behind on The U.S. of Tara, because it�s just not the kind of show I�m in the mood for on Sunday evenings, but I forget about it watching it during the week. And I goofed on �No.1 Ladies Detective Agency��I thought it didn�t start till 8:00, but it started at 7:00. So I set up to record it off of HBO West later on. Plus, it will probably be in the On Demand list by now. Maybe I�ll watch it in a little bit.

Ended up watching �Lil� Abner�, the 1959 musical, off the DVR. Made me think of Mum�she watched it with me once, and introduced me to the brilliance of Stubby Kaye. She loved anything with Stubby in it�I remember watching �Cat Ballou� and �Guys and Dolls� with her, as well.
I had chiro today, which kinda didn�t suck, but kinda did. As much as I needed my hips and neck straightened, I really dislike having chiro at the beginning of the monthly �massacre at the Y�. I feel bloaty and smelly and extremely sensitive to being touched.

And it made me feel rushed, since I also had to stop and get gas, plus make a stop at Walgreens for a few necessaries. But it�s better to be a bit rushed and get those errands in before the chiro, than to not get home till 5:30. I hate that more�it makes me feel like I�m cheated out of a chunk of my evening.

And with my total web hours reduced to what I can squeeze it between when I get home and when I go to bed, the evenings are crowded enough as it is. I�ve had to give up almost entirely on several communities I�ve enjoyed for years, due to time constraints. Can�t do it all. I will probably cut back here, as well. Why do it every day, anyway? And at least with TV, I can do needlework at the same time.
Almost forgot to do something really important, but remembered in the nick of time. Mom's birthday is Tuesday. So I called Merlin's in Oregon and ordered her flowers--calling directly eliminated the seven bucks wire charge, but there was still a seven dollar charge for home delivery. Seven bucks to go two blocks up the hill. Still, calling directly also allowed me to get the personal touch. They are so lovely at Merlin's, and a pleasure to talk to on the phone. Plus, they are friends of my parents, so they know how to spell my maiden name! Most places, you can spell it out for them twice and they still manage to screw it up. And I know that mom will get something gorgeous for my forty dollars. Their stuff is usually pretty spectacular. I'll call her tomorrow night to wish her a happy birthday and find out what they sent.

Reading: "I Capture the Castle", the classic by Dodie Smith that I somehow missed growing up. One of my books from the library sale.

Surfing: No time, really..

Listening: The Higsons, Psych Furs, The Plimsouls, 'Til Tuesday.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com