rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















frisatsunmon
March 23, 2009, 2009

Dead Like Me night was a lot of fun. We watched the DLM movie, which I wasn't wild about but had a pretty satisfying ending, and ate fettucini with a garlic-mushroom cream sauce and garlic toast. W doesn't cook often, but she's pretty awesome when she makes the effort. When the movie was over, I surprised W & T by telling them they got to keep it. It made sense to me; after all, they have the series DVDs and the movie completes their collection. Plus, I never did get them a Christmas gift, so that's finally covered.

Then we watched "The Last of Sheila", and W enjoyed the hell out of it. She and I have a lot of teenage memories in common, despite not meeting up until our twenties. That movie is one of them. And since T had never seen it, it was fun to watch it with her. W and I kept telling her "you have to pay attention to everything in order to solve it". She didn't do too badly. She caught a lot of the clues. And the cinematographic cues, particularly--the camera's emphasis in certain spots is subtle, but vital to solving the puzzle.

All in all, a really fun night. Next time, we're back to game night, but a movie night was really nice to fill in with.


Saturday wasn't what you'd call productive. Spouse slept in, and I got up to tend to B and call my mom for a mega-chat. But we both pulled it together by 11:30 or so, and shot down to the Wally's for the usual groceries and whatnot shopping.

Since next Saturday is the Boy Scout food drive, we decided to make a start on that, and bought 4 bags of assorted non-perishables. We'll probably hit the Aldi for more next Friday when I get off of work. Since we are pretty much the only house on the block that contributes to the Boy Scout and Postal Carrier drives, we always feel compelled to do it in a big way.

Spouse also picked up additional Girl Scout Cookies, since the local troop had a table set up out front of the store. That made a total of 14 boxes we got this year. Thank goodness they freeze well.

Then we came home and pretty much lazed for the rest of the day. W stopped by just before dinner (cold salads, baked beans, and grilled beer brats). She needed to vent a bit about her trials and tribulations in fixing her front steps. She had her porch steps replaced a few years ago, and the guy did a great job of building the wooden steps--but he never put any sort of foundation under them! The ground beneath shifted so much this winter that now the steps are undermined, and unstable. She's trying to go in after the fact with brick pavers and give them a foundation, and that's no fun job.

I wish she'd called me--Spouse and I weren't doing anything, and we'd have been glad to come over and help. T can't help much--between the Fibromyalgia and the PCOS and all her other health issues, she has zero strength or stamina.

But that's not W's way. She never wants to ask anyone for help.

And she didn't stay to supper, either. So Spouse and I ate dinner, and then, bless his lil ol heart, he vacuumed and did the dishes while I sat on my ass. Neither one of us felt like staying up very late, so we were both sound asleep by 10:00.
Yesterday, I got up early, got the interminable laundry train in motion, and had some coffee before getting showered and dressed so Spouse could take me here: The Bristol 45 Diner. He'd been wanting to try it, so we went out for Sunday breakfast. It's really cute, the food was great, the service was super-great, and the price was decent. It's a few miles away, but worthy of being added to the keepers list. The fame of our old reliable diner, Frank's, has grown so much that you can't even get in anymore unless you're willing to stand in the street for hours and wait. Ever since they got featured on a couple of Food Network shows, they have 10 times the business they can fit in that old O'Mahoney Dining Car.

After breakfast, we came home and put the old pool ladder on the curb--as usual when we use this method of disposal, it was gone within an hour. Spouse was out puttering in the yard and helped a lady load it in her truck.

It still amazes me after 15 years, how effective our fron curb is for getting rid of stuff we don't want anymore. A FIFTY-year-old, non-working washing machine, a bicycle with a broken frame, busted paving stones, our old screen door, an electric fan (non-working), and countless other pieces of "junk" have been disposed of that way, as well as a lot of items that still had some actual life in 'em.

One that was squared away, I struck more blows against the evil laundry pile, and shortly after noon, I ran over to the library for the book sale. Big Mistake. Being Sunday, it was the last day of the sale--three bucks-a-bag day. And the vultures were out in force. There was a line to get in, you couldn't move once you were in, and there wasn't much left but those damned romance paperbacks, anyway. (They ought to just ship those straight to a pulp mill--they have stacks upon stacks, but nobody ever buys them.) I found a few things, but it was all I could do to fill my sack enough to make it worth my while. And I scored a few for Spouse, too. "Flight of the Phoenix", "Gaudalcanal Diary", and some book about the Battle of Midway. I almost bought him "Papillon"--but then I realized it was in French, so that was no go.

By the time I fought my way through and paid, I was hotter than Hell and had a banging blood-pressure headache. I was almost glad to get back home to the laundry!

For dinner, I made the corned beef brisket in the crock-pot, and steamed carrots and new potatoes. Then I cleaned up the kitchen and watched the end of an Elvis movie (Clambake) before the Big Love Finale.

WHAT a finale! I won't spoiler it, but some big shit went down. Spouse doesn't watch normally, but he was drawn to it last night, because Harry Dean Stanton was being all awesome and gangsta and ruthless with a dash of funny. Spouse is a big HDS fan.

Then I TWoPped it a bit, and went to bed.
And woke up this morning with gastritis. Bleagh! The nausea and the oh, so gross eggy burps! But I perservered, went to work nausea and all, and was rewarded by NINE HOURS of our building shaking like a fucking earthquake because of nearby roadwork. Oh, yeah. Nothing like an entire day of your head bouncing in one direction and your computer screen bouncing in another to really help the old pukey gut.

Speaking of work, did I ever mention it was those GOD-DAMNED FACEBOOK ADDICTS managed to fuck up the internet for everybody?! Man, I thought I hated that social network crap before, but this absolutely takes the biscuit.



Reading: �Light From Heaven�, by Jan Karon. I listened to this one on CD last fall, but somehow, I never really feel I've read a book until I've read the book.

And I'm feeding my vintage YA hobby, as well--�The Adventures Of Ann: Stories Of Colonial Times�, containing herein �The Bound Girl�, �Deacon Thomas Wales' Will�, �The Adopted Daughter�, and �The "Horse-House" Deed�. By Mary E. Wilkins, from original documents and family traditions. Copyright, 1886, by D. Lothrop & Company, Boston.

Surfing: still more in the book dept.

Listening: Death Cab for Cutie, The Cars, Coldplay, Norah Jones

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com