rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















foreign car
March 04, 2009

Damn, how I hate driving a car I'm not familiar with. I took the G6 this morning, since the Rocket will be in the shop for the rest of the week. And my lower back is killing me from constant right foot action--because I have no idea how to operate the cruise control. Or operate the dome light so I can figure out the cruise control. I'd really be screwed if the lights didn't operate automatically. Because I am functionally retarded in strange vehicles.

So I didn't know whether to feel better or worse about the damn cruise control when I went outside at lunch to look at things in the daylight, and discovered his car doesn't even HAVE cruise.


In keeping with a long tradition of needlework in our family, I decided to embroider a pair of pillowcases in anticipation of my niece�s wedding in October. Wedding Gift-wise, I know we�re going to give them cash. But because she has a real appreciation of gifts that you invest with your personal time and effort, and because I honor the memory of Great-Grandma and Grandma and the Aunties, I want to give her something hand-stitched. I figure I can either use them for a shower gift, or enclose a card with cash for the wedding present itself.

Well, deciding something and achieving it are miles apart, sometimes. Little did I know what a lost art stamped cross-stitch is. I rooted around the internet for hours before stumbling onto a quilting supplies site that had what I was looking for. And even then, I could only get the pillowcases, and not a complete kit. Oh, well. So much the better, because now I can customize the colors to my niece�s taste. I�ll email her mom for color advice, and then once the package arrives, I�ll pop into Joann�s or Michael�s or Hobby Lobby for a new hoop, needles, and floss. Presumably one can still readily access those items in a hobby store. And these are just right�appropriate to my skills, and a pattern that has simple, clean lines�it won�t get dated, and the niece will appreciate that it�s not overly ornate.

I�d really love to get back into my old hobby of embroidery, but since stamped stitch is so out of vogue, it doesn�t really look like I will. The few kits I did manage to find are way too complex for my skill level, and not really to my taste, anyway. It bums me out, but unless there is a resurgence of old-school, retro stitchery, I�m just out of luck. Counted cross stitch, of course, is out of the question for the same reason it has always been�I just don�t have good enough vision.

I did find this wonderful site in my travels, though. These are so awesome, it might be worth it to give the counted stitching another try!

Reading: "The World According to Bertie", by Alexander McCall Smith.

Surfing: Quilting Warehouse.

Listening: NPR.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com