rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















car trouble
March 03, 2009

Well, the peaceful Sunday certainly didn�t carry over to Monday. When I got up yesterday morning, it was snowing, and when I went to start the car and clean it off, it wouldn�t run. Started okay, but did that thing where it dies unless you keep your foot hard on the gas pedal. Shit. So Spouse got up, took a look, and decided I shouldn�t try to drive it, even though it evened out after a while and seemed to be okay. So he got dressed and drove me into work, then came home and called the mechanic.

I was lucky enough to have a co-worker offer a ride home, which meant Spouse wouldn�t have to go in late to work due to picking me up. And going yesterday meant I was able to give advance warning that I would need a day off. Unfortunately, it also meant I had to spend the day manning the tech support phones, and fuck, did that wear me the hell and gone out. I admit it--I�m a spoiled baby that can�t bear up when the shit comes down. It�s probably a good thing all that didn�t land on me last Monday--it probably would have killed me.

So I came home yesterday more than ready for A) a smoke, B) a bowl of leftover homemade vegetable soup, and C) the latest episode of Big Love. So that was my evening. Decompression and relaxation.


Today, I slept in till nearly 6:30 (well, that�s two extra hours for me!), then got up, did the morning chores, got cleaned up and dressed, and had my coffee before waking up the sleepy bear so we could go take the car to the mechanic. Which is a bit of a haul, since we use a guy who lives way out in the far end of the county. But he�s honest, reasonably priced, a very good mechanic, and an old, old friend. He led, I followed, and we got out there without mishap. She was running just fine, of course--they always do when you take them to the mechanic!

But Spouse has been planning to get some major work done on the Rocket, anyway--and yesterday�s little incident just brought things to a head. So he had an extensive list of shit for Tom to do to it. New wheel hub, struts and shocks, clean the injectors, cooling system flush, transmission service, and whatever else he may find she needs.

It won�t be cheap, but the Rocket is coming up on a hundred grand, and she needs the love. Besides, it ain�t like I can afford a new car. Or do without one.

Reading: �The World According to Bertie�, by Alexander McCall Smith.

Surfing:Vintagraph.

Listening: Comparing different renditions of �Hallelujah�. I just listened to John Cale, Rufus Wainwright, kd lang, and Leonard Cohen himself--and I have to admit that I still think no one can deliver this quite like the songwriter can.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com