rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















omnivore
March 05, 2009

After living on Girl Scout cookies and leftover vegetable soup for a few days, I hit the wall and had a protein jones this morning�so strong that I actually left my desk and visited the cafeteria for a couple of sausages and hard-boiled eggs. No doubt about it, I am not cut out to be a vegetarian. And that didn't do it for me, either. I ended up re-visiting the cafeteria at lunch, and indulging in a pork cutlet.

For free! When I went to pay the cashier, she informed me that the gentleman in front of me had paid for my lunch. I have no idea who the guy is--I don't know most of the people around work, despite my 13 years there. But apparently, he does this just about every day--just a kindness he likes to do. What a sweetie.


Spouse heard from the mechanic yesterday, and Tom had already covered well over half the items on Spouse�s list. The verdict on the suspension? the rear springs are shot to shit. The front sway-bar and/or bushings are probably shot as well.

Well�yeah. I know the PT never had the smoothest ride, but that thing has been riding like a buckboard for a while now. SO�if Tom can get the new springs from Chrysler, he will be fixing that problem. At any rate, he�ll be fixing the front end.

We are supposed to pick it up on Friday afternoon, so I�m hoping he can get everything dealt with.

And Spouse is looking into maybe getting a salvage windshield installed on Saturday. That would be nice�the windshield has been severely cracked for years, since I could never justify the expense and insurance claim for putting in a new one. Not when the rock magnet would probably just get clobbered again as soon as I did. But if we can get a cheap used one installed, I could go for it. The crack in the old one really shreds my wiper blades.
I mentioned yesterday that I was kind of wanting to get back into embroidery, and last night, for whatever it�s worth, I did. I dug out my old hoop, and opened up a vintage cross-stitch kit I�d found at the Goodwill for 99 cents. One of those folk-arty �welcome friends� signs that is meant to be framed in a wooden embroidery hoop, copyright 1984. Is it pretty? Will I hang it up? Will I even finish it? No, no, and probably not.

But you know what? As I sat there stitching, I felt my breathing even out, my body relax, and my brain slow down. So I�m going to keep at it. I�d forgotten how soothing it can be. Really, it was more relaxing than ever, since my hands work so much better now than they did back in those days. I used to be limited to a few minutes of stitching at a time due to the CTS, but last night I went for over an hour without even thinking about it.

Felt great. And if I�m going to do pillowcases for my niece, I can use the practice, anyway.
I may have to start watching broadcast TV again...When I heard about Glee, it made me squeeee! Victor "Anthony Hope" Garber! Debra "Shelby Stevens" Monk! Kristin "Glinda the Good" Chenoweth!



Reading: "The World According to Bertie", by Alexander McCall Smith.

Surfing: brushing up on my stitches.

Listening: Nicholas Tremulis, Junior Wells.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com