rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















domesticities
March 01, 2009

After Nephew came over yesterday, we ran up to Bayshore to hit the Trader Joe�s, because I haven�t been in for-friggin-ever. And I really love TJ�s. I scored much great coffee, frozen veggies, fresh blackberries (a steal at $2.99 for TWELVE ounces), chocolate, potato latkes, and an Indian food frozen dinner that looked pretty damn good.

After we went to TJ�s and the Barnes and Noble (you can�t escape a trip to the bookstore if you�re with Nephew and me), we went to South Woods, a steakhouse in Cudahy, for a nice dinner, and then stopped at the Oak Creek Woodman�s to finish the shopping before coming home to hang out and have dessert (Chocolate ice cream for Spouse, blackberries and vanilla ice cream for Nephew and me), and then hit the hay.


And today, I had the kind of day that suits me just fine. I love my quiet, domestic Sundays. True, I could live without the big fat laundry mountain. But a day when I can putter about in my raggedy sweats, relaxing between chores, doing some cooking, some baking, and--in today�s case, a little vacation planning--that�s a lovely day in my book.

I got up this morning, put on a pot of Trader Joe�s Sumatran, and made breakfast for my guys. Nephew stayed over last night, and had to go to work this morning, so I figured I�d better feed him before he took off. I cooked up a ham steak, some hash browns, scrambled eggs, and toast, and that made them both pretty chipper. After Nephew left, I cleaned up the kitchen and started the laundry, then Spouse and I sat down with the South Dakota guide and the laptop and did some trip-planning. We managed to work out a schedule framework, book our hotels, and target a few sights and activities we want to take in. That was a good bit of progress, anyway.

Once we had that out of the way, Spouse just chilled for a while, and I baked a cake. His favorite from childhood--a pound cake with fudge frosting. And this afternoon, I put together a big pot of my homemade vegetable soup and set it to simmer. We had it for supper tonight with a pan of cornbread, and there's plenty of leftovers for during the week. I needed to use up all the odds and ends of vegetables in the fridge and the bin, and there is no better way to do that than the soup pot.
Now, I should be watching my favorite show, but to tell the truth, I�m just not in the mood right now. So I figure I�ll just post this, read for a while, and bit the rack early. Between the DVR and HBO on demand, it�s not like I�m going to miss anything.

Reading: I put aside "The Distant Echo" for a bit, in favor of �The World According to Bertie�, by Alexander McCall Smith--the latest volume of the 44 Scotland Street series.

Surfing:The Black Hills.

Listening: Bill Nighy, Al Stewart, The Outlaws.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com