rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















can we stop now?
February 23, 2009

When I finally got him to switch his data backup from a floppy to a flash, and his music medium from CDs to mp3, I really didn�t know what I was setting in motion. The next thing we had to upgrade was the television, the recording device, & the TV provider. That held him for a while, but not for too long. So he got me a laptop. Which led to upgrading router and putting in a wireless network, not to mention the purchase of several accessories. Then the phone contract expired, so he upgraded the phones. (quick service from Sprint on that, considering it was free shipping--he ordered them Saturday and they were on the porch when I got home today.)

And yesterday, he decided that it was time to replace the camera I broke at Christmas.

Yes, that�s right. Nothing would do but getting me out of my laundry sweats and dressed, and over to Best Buy to look at digital cameras. Which didn�t result in anything�their selection was kind of sucky. And I almost breathed a sigh of relief at getting off the hook. But before I could, he�d pulled into Target to see what their selection was like.

LSS�
We have a brand new Nikon Coolpix S202.

I had a battle overcoming my Ashton Kutcher aversion enough to get a Nikon, but it really was the only one we�d seen with the combination of features and price point we were looking for, and I knew if I didn�t break down an let him get a damn camera, he�d just keep driving me crazy about it.
But cripes! Enough, already! Now that he�s managed blow through my overtime and most of my bonus, maybe he�ll slow the eff down. Damn, I hope.


Did my good deed for the day. Made a visiting out-of-town colleague all happy with the gift of a Harley shirt from Uke's. She's a biker, so I picked her up a long-sleeved tee in orange. It's a leftover from the 105th, so I got it cheap, and she loves it, so everything's swell. And sometimes it doesn't hurt to throw a little good will around.
I hate days like this, when I can barely stay awake, I feel like crap, I can't get warm, and I ache in all the old places AND some new ones...my lower back is killing me today, and my left knee hurts like I did something nasty to it, but I can't figure out what I could have done. I hope at least some of it sorts itself out before tomorrow--I don't know if I can take more than a day of this.

Reading: "Frequent Hearses", by Edmund Crispin.

Surfing: Big Love. Big Problems. Now that TWoP has sent Big Love to the basement, other resources are required.

Listening: The Posies, Duffy, Jane's Addiction, Modern English.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com