rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















DIY romantic gesture
February 11, 2009

I ordered myself the ring I want--a rather pretty thing of fake diamonds set in sterling silver. (I don't buy real diamonds anymore)

One would think that after a quarter-century with the guy, I could ask for it for Valentine's Day, and not have to buy it for myself.

One would be wrong. I am married to a singularly unromantic man, who has always been particularly active in boycotting V-Day. Oh, a few times over the years, he's allowed me to guilt him into getting me a gift, but he just plain doesn't believe in it.

Doesn't really matter, anyway. Even if he had decided to buy it for me, he'd still have to put it on my card, and I'd end up paying for it.

And like I told him on the phone last night--"when you clean house and do dishes so I don't have to, I feel more loved than if you bought me all the fancy stuff in the world". And it's quite true--the new leaf he turned over at Christmas is the gift that keeps on giving. He's been contributing to so much more around here. Dishes, picking up after himself, vacuuming, dusting, taking the trash out, the occasional bathroom cleaning...he's really making an effort to keep at it.

Is he consistent? No. Is it anywhere near 50%? No. But after 25 years, it's fucking appreciated. (And the laundry isn't on that list, but that's my decision. Because he really shouldn't be climbing all those stairs with his bad knee.)


But the two of us together can't keep up with the mud tracked in by Mr. B these days. We're having a massive thaw, with rain on top, and the backyard is an unholy mess. B is amazingly good at avoiding mud, but sometimes--it's just unavoidable.

And it's a hell of a lot better than subzero temps and snow, as far as I'm concerned. When you live in a place where the four seasons are "FreezeYerAssOff", "MUD!", "Hotter'n'Hell", and "MORE MUD!"...mud is actually a good thing.
A sad note--Blossom Dearie died on Saturday. A sublime voice, stilled. I loved everything she did, but first and foremost, she'll always be the voice that taught me about adjectives.
I've been awol from here a bit lately, but I've been pouring it on at work during the day, coming home too exhausted to think, and frankly enjoying a weekend where I didn't have to work or even look at a computer if I didn't want to--and I really didn't want to. The light is showing at the end of the tunnel, though--I just have to make it through Friday's all-nighter, and things will calm down a bit--provided it goes well with the big implementation this weekend. If not, well, more of the same, I guess.

I need it to lighten up. Work has got me so frazzled, I'm getting all kinds of stress manifestations. Disturbed sleep, "stress gut", head and neck aches, and more than a touch of paranoia.



Reading: "Twice Retired"--another Richard Lockridge mystery, but not a Heimrich. Although it does mention him, since it features Professor Brinkley and Dyckman University. But then, Professor Brinkley shows up in a lot of different Lockridge books--and the university in even more.

Surfing: I gave my Links Page a well-overdue update.

Listening: Blossom.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com