rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















well, I�ll be damned
February 17, 2009

Seems all I have to do is go on record as saying that Spouse is a Valentine�s Day dud, and BAM! He goes over the top.

My V-Day included a trip to Chicago for ribs at our favorite barbeque joint, shopping (successfully!) for 2 new pairs of shoes, and�this little beauty right here.

Yup. He bought me my mini laptop. And�even more incredible�when he gave it to me, he stood right there in the middle of Best Buy and kissed me!

I even got my ottoman. Target had them in stock when I stopped Saturday morning, so I cashed in my rain check and snapped that sucker up.

Yes, all in all, a very gratifying Valentine�s Day.


Which I desperately needed. Friday was a battle royal. I put in 5 hours in the morning (after a nearly sleepless night), then went home, had a sandwich, and went to bed. Back to work in the evening, from 7:30 to 1:00�and crazy isn�t even enough of a word. My actual responsibilities went more or less perfectly�if you don�t include me moving 1009 documents to the wrong place because I was dealing with whiny, moronic �helpers� and not paying attention to my own tasks. Still, nothing that wasn�t reversible. I straightened it out again, went on with my processes, and everything went as intended.

A huge relief for me, because I never received any formal training on programming. In fact, I really didn�t receive anything significant in the way of IN-formal training�self-taught pretty much all the way. And the sweeping changes I made impacted pretty much all the work that comes in the door. So�no pressure, eh?
God, what a sucky place to work.

But Hey! I succeeded. Too bad the department responsible for actually giving all the users access to my newly re-designed system managed to FUBAR their piece of it.
Like Formerboss said�nobody can see what a good job you did. Yet.

And the fact that anything on the access and authorization worked AT ALL can be attributed to A) the weeks I spent on intense prep work so things had at least a chance of going smoothly, and B) the three hours from 10:00 pm to 1:00 am helping those idiots out by doing updates myself.

Yep. I stayed till one in the morning to help them out. And in the process, risked life, limb, and Retro-Rocket, because while I was doing them a solid, the weather was dropping freezing rain and snow, and turning the roads into deathtraps. Nothing like crawling home over icy roads in the middle of the night, when you�re so damn tired you can hardly see anymore.
By the way�got my ring I ordered. And it�s frigging gorgeous. I absolutely love it. Too bad it�s too small. Too small for my right hand, anyway. It fits on the left, but since it isn�t my wedding ring, I don�t really want to wear it there.

Yeah, I looked into having it sized. I found a jeweler who would be willing to do it, but she would charge $75.00. Don�t get me wrong�that�s quite reasonable for the complicated process of sizing a plated ring with CZ stones. They would have to laser it, so they didn�t burn the stones, and if they lasered it, they would have to re-plate it...yada yada yada. So six bits ain�t bad.

But.

$75.00 to size a $14.99 ring? Nah. Don�t think so.

Reading: "Expoit of Death" by Dell Shannon. One of her later (1983) Luis Mendoza novels.

Surfing: My Dell Mini forums. Man, they have a community for everything these days.

Listening: John Hiatt, Inxs, U2

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com